Part 2 – Hana Kimi (Taiwan)

I wanted to continue from my first post (refer to: Part 1 – Hana Kimi (2OO7) [Japan] )

This was another first drama for me, my very first Taiwanese drama. To me, Hana Kimi is a special type of drama because of the fact that it was the one that started it all for me. I watched this version after watching the Japanese version and one thing that I really loved – it was close to the manga! Almost exact in parts, but the events were pretty accurate! And it still had me laughing (: So I want to write about the pros and cons of this drama (:

Photobucket

Synopsis: After watching a high jump competition on TV, Lu Rui Xi was so inspired by a jumper named Zuo Yi Quan that she decides to transfer to his school, which happened to be an all-boys school; therefore, she disguises herself as a boy to get accepted. At the school, Rui Xi befriends Jin Xiu Yi. One day during a friendly soccer match, Rui Xi is knocked unconscious by Xiu Yi. Quan carries her to the infirmary and realizes that Rui Xi is in fact a girl! However, Quan keeps her identity a secret. At the same time, Xiu Yi starts to question his own sexual orientation when he finds himself having feelings towards Rui Xi. –Wikipedia

Already, if you’ve seen the Japanese version, you’ll notice something a little different in the synopsis, where it says “One day during a friendly soccer match, Rui Xi is knocked unconscious by Xiu Yi. Quan carries her to the infirmary and realizes that Rui Xi is in fact a girl!” – In the Japanese version Sano finds out that Mizuki is a girl by overhearing a conversation she’s having with her brother. In the manga it happens exactly like it does in the Taiwanese version, so when I first started watching it I was happy to see it going in that direction (:

I’ve heard people say they didn’t want to watch this drama because of Ella and her looks – but here’s the thing: she’s pretending to be a boy, and Ella looks really boyish in this drama. But if you saw any of the music videos by S.H.E you’d be able to tell right away that she’s a girl. Also I heard some people mention about her face expressions, I didn’t have a problem with them, and also remember that anything based on a manga is going to be a little on the overboard side at times.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I found Ella to be pretty funny and I thought she did a good job as Mizuki (:

Photobucket

So back to what I wanted to talk about, the things I loved and the things I was a little disappointed in!

The Things I Loved:

-Like I mentioned above, I loved how close it was to the manga! Of course there were parts they added and things they left out, but at least 85% of the drama is close to the manga, and that’s pretty close if I do say so myself!

Wu Chun did a great job as Zuo Yi QuanΒ (Sano) – his character was a lot like how the original Sano was and even his hairstyle was closer!

Photobucket

Jiro Wang also did a great job as Jin Xiu Yi (Nakatsu)! While Toma is my favorite version, Jiro was the best person they could’ve gotten for the Taiwanese part, in my opinion. So funny, honest and confident, how can you not like him? Or maybe I’m too bias towards Nakatsu? :p

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

I just couldn’t resist adding those pictures haha.

I already talked about Ella above, so I’ll move on to the next person I wanted to point out: Mei Tian (Dr. Umeda).

His hair is longer than I would’ve expected, but his character was just as quirky, funny and stubborn as the original Umeda.

Photobucket

And what I was happy they did with this version – when Akiha showed up he was still a he! In the Japanese version they made Akiha a girl for some reason. Also how Akiha shows up is pretty accurate, Akiha didn’t hang around Umeda from the beginning of the story like they showed in the Jversion.

Photobucket

Liang Si Nan (Nanba) was a little less how I imagined him, but he still fit the part alright

Photobucket

-Wu Chun and Ella have great chemistry!
This video I found is one of the few I managed to find with subs, but it gives you a brief look at the chemistry they have. Rui Xi is fantasizing/dreaming so put aside the semi-weird factor haha.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Horikita Maki and Oguri Shun didn’t really share much chemistry in the Japanese version, not like how Wu Chun and Ella have. Although Fahrenheit and S.H.E both were groups that spent a lot of time around each other, they have quite a few songs together as well and you can tell that they all have fun (:

-The music!
I loved all of the songs!
“Zen Me Ban” by S.H.E is the opening theme song, a song about liking someone but the feeling is “sweet and sour.” The title means “What to do?”

“Chao Xi Huan Ni” by Fahrenheit was the song that played mostly during the parts dealing with Xui Yi. The song title means “I really like you!”

“Dong Le” by TANK is a song they played during many moments and it’s my favorite song from the series. The title means “I Understand”

“Zhuan Shu Tian Shi” by TANK is the ending theme song, the title means “Personal Angel”

Things I didn’t like

-The only thing I really didn’t like was the ending. The ending leaves you hanging, they can’t really call it an ending because it feels like there should be more to it – and there is! The only part I liked about how it ended were the flashbacks and Wu Chun talking about their experience, but there was so much more to the story! Also the last few episodes started drifting off from the manga before it just cut off.

Overall the Taiwanese version was still a great watch and worth the time (: I enjoyed it!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

We have more Jiro Wang here.

Posted on December 22, 2011, in Dramas/Series and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Hana Kimi Taiwan Lover

    I agree with you, I’ve seen the Japanese and Korean version of this drama but for me this is really the best version. I like the chemistry of Ella and Wu Chun plus the goody good vibe of this drama version, a lot funnier than the other two. After how many years I’m still watching this drama and makes me laugh again and again. Hoping for part 2 or a movie. πŸ™‚

    • I loved the chemistry between those two (: You can tell they’re good friends in real life as well, and it just had an overall good feel about the drama. I really wish they would’ve continued it, the ending was my only disappointment!

  2. I will always like this story . . . !ALWAYS! . . . until I grow old πŸ™‚ hahaha
    I will watch it again and again πŸ™‚
    thanks for a very nice post and article!!

  3. I still need to watch this version. Jiro Wang looks so cute in it. I think Ellen seems like a good Mizuki.

  4. Yes I agree, Ella is a good version of the character in terms of likeness because she looks more like a 15 year old boy. I have seen her in Down With Love, and there she plays a tomboy. I guess they cast her for characters like that, since she does have the look, although she can also be very feminine once she puts on all that make up and stuff πŸ™‚ Maybe a reason why a lot of people like her, she looks more down to earth.
    I love Wu Chun, I know lots of people say he cant act but I still like him… plus, is not like there aren’t many other singers/actors out there that cant act, yet… What was I talking about? Oh yeah Wu Chun is okay with me πŸ˜‰

    • Agreed! She is more down to earth, so I think you’re right about that! And she can pull both looks off (: [Have you heard her sing? She has a really nice voice, too!]

      Haha it’s true he’s not the best actor around but he’s not horrible! Then again, I’ve only seen him in Hana Kimi and I thought he did a decent job – then again, like I mentioned about the chemistry between him and Ella, I think it makes it easier to act when you’re working with people you have fun with. Plus Jiro being in it (former groupmates haha). Wu Chun come back to Fahrenheit!! 😦

Leave a Reply

