Luna Sea, My First Love

Exactly one year ago I came across what later turned into my first experience of fanaticism in about 13 years (I used to collect every picture of Brad Pitt back in high-school). It all happened while watching the drama Precious Times (Kamisama Mo Sukoshi Dake). The intro of the drama was the best intro song I had heard in a long time; “I For You”, by Luna Sea.

Shinya, Sugizo, Ryuichi, Inoran, J

After fangirling over Luna Sea, and especially J (yes that cutie with the sad eyes) I realized I liked doing all the stalking, screaming, and every other thing you can possible imagine that would mean at that moment I have no world but LUNA SEA; and I understood it was okay to do that… I’m not a dork, I’m just in love with… music. Now? I fangirl over Lee Byung Hun, Jang Hyuk, KimuTaku, Matsuda Shota… and the list goes on. :p

In honor of my first love, here I will share a bit of the post I wrote a year ago: 

“Luna Sea is one of the most respected rock bands in Japan. They formed in 1989, and became one of the most influential bands in the visual kei movement. In 2000, the band broke up, and only reunited in 2007-2008 for an anniversary tour. I thought they were still disbanded, however I recently learned –like two minutes ago- that they got back together in 2010 and had a world tour. OH-MY-GOD! They were here in L.A. and I lost my chance of going to my very first concert? I’m not the type to get fanatic; I like actors but I don’t care for their autograph; I like music but I don’t care for concerts. I always said how I would never pay $400 for a Madonna concert even though I like her songs (most of the old ones anyway). Well, this time is different; I’m literally in love with “I For Yo”‘, and I would have done anything I could to go to the concert of Luna Sea just to listen to them live! Right now I’m crying and I hate how I’m always a little bit too late on everything, just like in the drama with Takeshi, I feel my love for this song has come years too late and now I’m doomed since I have no idea when the band will come to the U.S. again.

What this song makes me feel when I listen to it, has nothing to do with the sad story of the drama. While watching the drama, yes, it was all connected and it had a great effect, hence I bought the song from iTunes as soon as I finished the drama, When I listened to it alone, without the drama, I fell in love with it. I don’t know why, there is no big explanation for it, but then again, people say love has no explanations right? If I had to say what captivates me about it aside from the lyrics and melody, well… have you seen the video already? Ryuichi is the best performer I have seen on stage. The way he sings this song is something that deserves to be seen, and felt; its like he transmits his pain to you through words. I read somewhere he wrote the song based on his own experience. I don’t know if it is true, but the song certainly has a feeling of reality.

I wish they would come to the U.S. one more time… just one more time is all I ask.”

Posted on December 24, 2011, in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Great post Nina! Hopefully they’ll hold some type of concert in the states again and give you a chance to go see them live! I listened to the song you posted, it is a nice song, I’ll have to listen to more of their music at another time (:

Leave a Reply

