For You in Full Blossom

It was seven years ago when I fell in love with mangas. I have always been an anime fan, actually I have been a fan of all types of animations. In my birth country, I was exposed to Russian animation, Canadian, Spanish, Australian, and of course, Japanese. Perhaps one reason why I aim to become an illustrator, I think telling a story by drawings is a beautiful way of teaching children about different cultures, and folklore. Hanazakari no Kimitachie, better known as Hana-Kimi (For You in Full Blossom), was not the exception.

The manga was written and beautifully illustrated by mangaka Hisaya Nakajo. It was serialized in the magazine Hana to Yume and ended with 23 volumes in August of 2004. The manga was then published by Viz Media for western readers, the final volume ending in 2008.

Several books were published and three adaptations for the small screen were aired: Hanazakari no Kimitachie (2007), Hanazakari no Kimitachie Taiwanese version (2006-2007) and a Japanese remake of the original was aired in 2011. Fellow warrior Crazy4You has written two post about the televisions series; to read and/or follow please click on the links provided below:

Part 1-Hana Kimi (2007) [Japan]

Part 2-Hana Kimi (Taiwan)

What attract me the most to Hana-Kimi, was the art behind it. The story is great in many aspects I must admit; a girl disguises herself as a boy in order to attend an all boys high school and meet her idol. However much this story has been done before, it is the way the story is told what captures the reader, and in this case accompanied by an amazing artist as Hisaya; you cannot deny its uniqueness.

The three main characters of the story are:

Mizuki Ashiya: our heroine. She admires Sano for his athletic skills, and decides to go to Japan and enroll in his school, in order to get to know him better, and be close to him. However, the school is an all boys’ school and so, she must disguise herself as a boy to be able to enroll.  She is cheerful and always caring, but she is also somewhat of a klutz, and her secret faces the danger of being discovered many times throughout the manga.

Izumi Sano: The boy Mizuki admires deeply. Before entering highschool Sano was a talented high jumper, but because of personal reasons he stops being an athlete. He accidentally discovers Mizuki is a girl, and without revealing he knows her secret, decides to help her keep it from the rest of the school.

Shuichi Nakatsu: Is the third protagonist of the story. Being also a student living in campus, he befriends and falls for Mizuki’s feminine side, however he thinks she is a boy and it causes him to doubt his sexuality. Because here at Dramatards we love Nakatsu, being the live of the story in many ways, we had him as the first Highlight of The Week subject.

As I said what attracted me most was the art by Hisaya. I bought the book The Art of Hana-Kimi, For You in Full Blossom and was taken in by her strong use of colors and details, and the compositions are the effect of a wide imagination. Here are some pictures from the book:

To learn more things from Hana-Kimi, please read our posts on this awesome story here.

Thank you for reading ^^

Posted on December 28, 2011, in Animation/Manga and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I agree. The art for Hana Kimi is so gorgeous. i have yet to finish the manga series, but what drew into buying the first volume of it was the cover art. I thought, “wow it’s so pretty, I want to find out more about it.”

    • I do the same when buying manga hahaha… sometimes Im more interested in the art than the story, but yeah Hana-Kimi has both.
      Thanks for leaving a comment sleepy 😀

  2. I loved the art in Hana-Kimi as well! It’s because I read manga like Hana-Kimi and Fushigi Yuugi that I fell in love with Shoujo art and was really impressed by it. So much that I started getting into art (so I’ll be eternally thankful to the friend who introduced me to manga/anime :p). I love how even though it’s obviously a cartoon, it somehow pulls off such a realistic look. I prefer the drawings in manga to anime because of that! I love the style of drawing that’s used (: Hana-Kimi does have some of the best art and I was impressed when I read it. It was one of the things that made me love it even more 😀

    • Haha Twin Powers Activate! Tan-tan!

    • Your friend has good taste haha… BTW if you haven’t read Hot Gimmick, I highly recommend it. You will love it, and the art is also very impressive. ^^
      Thanks for the comment c4u 😀

      • Haha she started me off on my first manga and Hana-Kimi was one of my firsts 😀

        And I actually haven’t gotten to read that yet but I wanted to! And okay (: I haven’t read much at all lately D: Between dramas, blogging, MDL, and everything else I haven’t had time to haha.

        And your welcome (:

      • Oooh I love Hot Gimmick. I bought the entire series at a convention. I still need to read the last two volumes. C4U I second her recommendation. 😀

Leave a Reply

