Part 1 – Trouble Maker MV

Photobucket

On December 1 Trouble Maker (Hyuna, Hyunseung (a.k.a “JS”) made their debut with their title song “Trouble Maker.” Before it actually released they gave teasers for it, as they do with Kpop MVs to build hype up. For those interested, here are the 2 teasers:

The teasers don’t give much, but it makes it look like it’ll be an interesting music video – and there was all this excitement building up to the release of the video as well. But when it was released I found myself a little disappointed. Let me start with saying that I’m a fan of B2ST, so the main reason for my interest is because of Hyunseung. I haven’t listened to that many songs by 4Minute because I tend to not listen to girl groups that often.

So what was the disappointment about? Certainly not the song itself, I find it really catchy and in fact I’ve played it over and over on my on my iPhone, it’s in my Top 25 Most Played songs playlist. My disappointment was this – the dancing and the lack of chemistry shown in the video. And by dancing I’m not really referring to JS’s, but Hyuna’s dance routine. As for the chemistry – I can’t see any at all! In fact they hardly even look at each other the whole time! There’s no spark, at least none that I can find in the video. Watch it and see if you agree:

There’s enough awkward thrusts and rubbing to make me feel like I’m not even watching a Kpop music video anymore. The thing is – while this sort of thing is common enough in American music videos – it’s not common in Korean ones. Maybe it wouldn’t have seemed so awkward if there had been some sort of spark to be found between them but I couldn’t see it. So I want to give a review based on what I think and noticed about the video (Note: this is my first time reviewing a music video!). And at the end of this I’m going to post Simon & Martina’s review (Eatyourkimchi) which I found myself agreeing with on their take of the MV.

My Review (out of 5):

Music: The music was really catchy, I loved all the whistling and it has a sort of funky sound that makes it sound original. Hyuna’s vocals were alright and JS sang great, loved all of his vocals. And the duo between him and Hyuna sounds good as well.
I give it ✩✩✩✩✩

Dancing: As I mentioned above, all of Hyuna’s dancing I found really awkward. But then again it wasn’t just her completely. The butt-rubbing was awkward to watch. Hyuna starts crawling on the floor and then scratches at the camera. While I found this weird at first after looking at the lyrics I understand that dance more. I do think Hyuna’s dance was a bit more suggestive and she puts on these “sexy” poses. JS’s dance crew was a little more original and they did this cool almost Michael Jackson type dance (I know Simon & Martina also said this, but before I watched their review I was thinking this). And the dancing they did together could’ve been better but there was a lack of feeling in it – and it was more touching and feeling each other (or in Hyuna’s case – herself) than anything.
I give it ✩✩✩

Photobucket

Chemistry: There was hardly any chemistry at all (as I mentioned above). In fact they hardly made any eye contact at all! They were too busy staring at the camera! Hyuna made all these faces at the camera and even while they were dancing it seemed they were trying to get the camera to notice them as individuals more than a couple. They wasn’t any spark between the two, it was like watching two strangers who know nothing about each other trying to pretend they’re really close. The only scene where there might have been a tiny bit of chemistry was at the end when she almost kisses him.
I give it ✩✩

Photobucket

Outfits: So Hyuna is wearing this super short dress for most of the video with a pair of high heels, clearly sporting the “sexy” look. JS’s main outfit is this red velvet tuxedo. They each had about 5 outfits for this video, most of them matching with each other’s (the leopard print dress and tuxedo stand out the most to me). I liked the outfits for the most part, but JS, please, do us all a favor – and lose the fur vest! And Hyuna, please, wear something just a little bit longer!
I give it ✩✩✩✩

Lyrics: 

1! 2! 3!
When I look into your eyes, I’m a Trouble Maker
When I stand next to you, I’m a Trouble Maker
Little by little, more more more
As we go on, more more more
Now I can’t help my heart either

I’ll keep being in front of you so you can’t forget me
I’ll keep shaking your heart so you can’t escape me
I will steal your lips and run far away
I’m a Trou a a a ble! Trouble! Trou! Trouble Maker!

Trouble Maker!
Trouble Maker!
Trouble Maker!
Trouble Maker!

I will bite your heart and run away like a cat
You will keep getting irritated, so come to me and get mad
My sexy walk ignites the inside of your head

The slight skinship – your eyes on your face say you can’t take it anymore
As I go on, you’ll fall even deeper – I like you the more I get to know you baby
I think I am drunk with thoughts of you Lady
I never never never stop!

I’ll keep being in front of you so you can’t forget me
I’ll keep shaking your heart so you can’t escape me
I will steal your lips and run far away
I’m a Trou a a a ble! Trouble! Trou! Trouble Maker!

Trouble Maker!
Trouble Maker!
Trouble Maker!
Trouble Maker!

How can I put you in my heart (Trouble Maker)
Now I will go wherever my heart takes me
I never never stop!
I can’t stop

I’ll keep being in front of you so you can’t forget me
I’ll keep shaking your heart so you can’t escape me
I will steal your lips and run far away
I’m a Trou a a a ble! Trouble! Trou! Trouble Maker!

Trouble Maker!
Trouble Maker!
Trouble Maker!
Trouble Maker!

(copied lyrics from: Michyeoga’s Blog)

After reading the lyrics the music video makes a little more sense in a way. The first time I read the lyrics I assumed that they were supposed to be lovers, but it doesn’t really fit with the story. Instead they’re a little more on the seductive side and the lyrics  “I will steal your lips and run far away” and “How can I put you in my heart” took the idea of them being lovers out of my head. This leads into the story…
I give it ✩✩✩✩

Story: The story in the music video is basically the two of them are spies or some sort of secret agents that are sent on a mission to kill each other – only they don’t know that the other person is doing the same thing they are.
[Note: I watched this video like 2O times, no joke. Played it with no sound, until I understood the story. Also watching Simon & Martina’s review helped uncover the spy concept. With all the dancing and how fast it goes the story is a little hard to pick up on]

Photobucket

The story starts with the two of them walking down a hallway, as they walk away from each other they turn their heads and look at each other, both unknowing they have the same goal in mind.

Photobucket

I’m posting this picture because the cat was completely random. The one and only shot of fame this cat has is at this moment right here. It plays no role in the video at all! (It’s not even at the part in the song where she mentions being like a cat)

Photobucket

As they walk away from each other JS enters his room (coincidence they’re right next to each other). In Hyuna’s room she has this old fashioned spy gear and she’s watching and listening to JS to see what he’s going to do next.

Photobucket

JS gets a phone call and as Hyuna is listening in on his conversation she overhears something that makes her realize “Hey this guy is out to kill me as well.” And JS leaves the room.

Photobucket

Once Hyuna sees that JS has left his room she goes to the wall to double-check (because it makes so much sense that listening through the wall will be more accurate than listening on your spy-gear). After she feels for sure he isn’t in his room she walks out of her room.

Photobucket

She peeks in JS’s room (she’s not noticeable or anything like that, perfect way to sneak in). JS also does the same thing at her room and they both walk into each other’s rooms (it’s a wonder to me how they didn’t cross each other with their rooms being side by side like that). Hyuna somehow managed to get her hands on a gun as she walks in (yet it wasn’t in her hands as she walked out of the room), and she starts looking for cameras (or so I’m guessing here because it isn’t really clear).

Photobucket

JS notices her spy gear and picks up the headphones and notices her in his room. She’s still looking around. JS pulls out this small chip looking thing, which is some sort of camera or hearing device I’m assuming.

Photobucket

Hyuna starts looking through his drawers and finds his gun – but she sets down her gun (and forgets about it. Still not sure why she took his gun and not left her own, haha). JS sticks the camera (what I’m calling it) on her mirror as Hyuna leaves his room.

Photobucket

As Hyuna enters her room JS is slick and quick (ha!) as he walks into this apparently hidden room (I would think that’s how he would’ve gotten into her room to begin with…but wait he walked through the doors? How did they not meet? Ohh forget it!) Now he’s the one listening in on her in his secret room as she sits on her bed with her gun (she might be thinking “was someone in here?”)

Photobucket

Hyuna holds her gun up to her mirror (practice her aim maybe?). Next thing we know, JS is walking out of his room (okay so his secret room is somehow attached to his hotel (guessing it’s a hotel) room). When he walks out he notices Hyuna who walks up to him and starts pushing him back into his room seductively.

Photobucket

She keeps pushing him back until he’s practically in a corner and leans in to kiss him. Next thing that happens is it cuts off – so I guess it’s up to our imagination to produce the event after that. When the video comes back Hyuna holds up a lighter while JS just stands there staring at her (maybe he’s heartbroken? Maybe he thought she’d fall in love with him?)

Photobucket

She tosses the lighter and starts walking away – but wait! Remember that gun she forgot? Somehow JS found it and he pulls it out and points it to her. She turns around and BANG. It ends. They both killed each other in the end.

I hope this helped clarify the story some haha (: I think with the combination of the dancing the lyrics do go with the story. They’re both “trouble makers” and they keep seeing each other “being in front of each other” – with the goal of killing each other. This part goes well with the last scenes of the video “I’ll keep shaking your heart so you can’t escape me / I will steal your lips and run far away” – the part where she pushes him back. But the confusion in some of the scenes that don’t really add up makes me not give it a full score.
I give it ✩✩✩

Overall  – I’d give it about ✩✩✩ out of 5

And that’s that for my review! As said, here is Simon & Martina’s review, enjoy!

This is “Part 1” because I’m going to write a follow up post focusing more on Hyuna & JS because there’s more I want to say about what I felt when I watched this music video. After watching it so much it doesn’t bother me except for Hyuna’s dancing in parts. But I’ll go more in detail in the next post. This one was more about the music video itself. (I was originally going to make it one long post but I figured it’d be too much to put into one post so I’m breaking it up into two).

Part 2 – Trouble Maker

Also I wanted to say, I know it’s been almost a month since the MV has been out, but since out blog has only been out for a few weeks I didn’t get the chance to write about it until now. So I hope you enjoyed reading it!

Posted on December 30, 2011, in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. i enjoy the song. but not a fan of the MV. one thing i like about kpop is that there isnt much “sex” in it like american MV. im sad to say this had quite a bit of “sex” in it what with Hyuna’s dancing and her dresses are way to short :(. i also agree that they didnt have great chemistry.

    Great review C4U 🙂

    P.S. i love Eatyourkimchi

    • Same here! It’s refreshing actually! And it’s definitely not as bad as Hyuna’s “Bubble Pop” MV, but still a bit too much…at least for a Kpop video.

      And thanks 😀

      P.S. I love them too :p

  2. I agree with there not being much chemistry between them, for all the reasons sleepy mentioned as well. But what I still dont get, even when you provide lyrics and describe the story in so much detail (thank you for that) is in which moment of the story do they like each other so much that lets me to believe “I’ll keep shaking your heart so you can’t escape me / I will steal your lips and run far away” when they sing it? I mean, yeah they are spies “trouble makers” and they stay next to each other in the hotel, but that doesn’t mean they like each other, when did they show this?

    • That part was confusing for me as well. The closest thing that they did was that scene where she leans in to kiss him. But it’s true, the story doesn’t say much about them being crazy for each other or liking each other. And the lack of chemistry only makes them seem like complete strangers trying to kill each other. The story was interesting, but I feel that it was rushed (kind of like how Simon & Martina said it) – I mean they’re obviously a pair of the worst spies you could’ve found and things didn’t add up. Actually the more I think about it…story = 3 stars not 4.

      • Yep… story is pretty badly done in my opinion, because in no where there I saw that they liked each other except for the end when she tried to kiss him and that only makes you think of the start of a possible relationship of any sort. SO… why didnt they do like a 1 minute or 2 back story at the very beginning, showing them being together, dating, liking each other, etc… then start the video like months later or so… and that would have been awesome then. But hey… Im not a MV director so… just saying.

        • I saw some pics of them together behind the scenes. They are adorable together and have a friendly chemistry, why couldn’t they have let some of that shine in the MV and performances. I think if they had been less worried about looking super sexified, it would have been more natural and they would have still been sexy. Yes sexified is a word………because I say so! :p

        • I like the idea of doing a back story, which they should have done, but they rushed everything it looks like so in the end it’s done very well.

  3. I agree. THe song is very catchy, but the music video was a bit of a let down. I love JS’s choreography, but Hyuna’s was a little too overdone. There’s a difference between being super sexy and just being over the top trashy. I’m not saying she’s trashy since it’s not likely that she had much say when it came to the choreography. There was so much potential with this song. I noticed that in both the MV and the live performances, they spent more time looking at the camera and the audiences while posing rather than showing any chemistry with each other. They would be all over each other but refuse to look each other in the eye. This made their interactions together feel awkward. I just wonder if the company forced them to do these things. It certainly didn’t appear like they were enjoying themselves while performing this song live. Which is sad, because that’s what I love most about live performances. I love seeing the artists having fun with the music and enjoying sharing their music with the fans..

    • I agree. Hyuna’s choreography was done to make her appear sexy and such but it just gave it a raunchy type feel. And they did! I felt even more awkward watching the live performances. And I wonder if the company did, too. They probably did, I mean once you sign a contract it’s either you get yourself in a big mess or you do what they want you to. And I love seeing them having fun as well! I’m going to focus more on these types of things in part 2…probably will write it next week since I’ll be busy with the other posts these next few days…

Leave a Reply

