The 1st Shop of Coffee Prince

Originally a novel by Lee Sun Mi, The 1st Shop of Coffee Prince, also known as Coffee Prince, was adapted to the small screen in 2007 as a Korean romcom drama co-written by Lee Jung Ah, and Jang Hyun Joo. It was serialized on MBC for about 9 weeks, running on 17 episodes. Produced by Lee Eun Kyo,and directed by Lee Yoon Jung, it depicts the lives of five young waiters working at a coffee shop, and how they find love. Funny, sweet, romantic, and at times sexy, Coffee Prince became one of the most recommended Korean dramas of all times.

1st Shop of Coffee Prince

MyDramaList Page

Synopsis: Choi Han Kyul is trying to get away from the responsible life his grandmother wants him to lead. She continuously arranges blind dates for him, wishing he would find someone he likes, date, and quickly settle down. One day he meets Go Eun Chan,  a girl of tomboyish looks, who is mistaken for a boy by everyone; Choi Han Kyul is not the exception. Believing her to be a boy, he quickly elaborates a plan to escape his grandmother, and hires Go Eun Chan as his gay lover.

Han Yoo Joo, Han Kyul’s friend (and the girl he has loved secretly for nine years) comes back to Korea. At the same time, Han Kyul is confronted by his grandmother and given an ultimatum. It is then, when Han Kyul decides to prove himself to the girl he loves and his grandmother. He takes a run-down coffee shop and turns it around, renaming it Coffee Prince. To attract more female customers, he hires only male waiters. Eun Chan, who is in desperate need of money, decides to hide her true gender in order to get a job from Han Kyul. Later, Han Kyul starts feeling attracted to Eun Chan, still believing her to be a boy. — JADEEYES

Dont stop here ^_^ Visit our posts on the characters and the actors behind it for more fun of Coffee Prince (The Characters From Coffee Prince)

Our thoughts on Coffee Prince:

Coffee Prince was my second Korean drama. I finished it a couple of years ago. I fell in love with it. I loved the storyline, but most of all I loved the characters. The cast was amazing and they all worked so well together. They are all very talented actors. Another thing I loved about this drama is something I can’t go into too much detail over for fear of spoiling. Just know that it was steamy. Oh boy was it steamy 😀 This drama had some real kisses in it. Not that irritating let me quickly press my face to yours and freeze as the camera pans around in a circle. Meanwhile the girl has a deer-caught-in-the-headlights expression (so not sexy or romantic). lol This drama has lots of funny scenes and scenes that will make you squeal in delight.-sleepninja

Coffee Prince was my very first Kdrama and one of the very first dramas I watched. I first saw it on show up on TV. We used to have Comcast and it had this Asian channel and I checked it out one day and discovered Coffee Prince. While I didn’t finish it that year, I’d seen most of it but not the whole thing, I finished it earlier this summer and I still loved it! When I first saw it I didn’t even know anything about it before hand. I like coffee, and it seemed to get more interesting as I watched it :p The cast is fun and loving and there’s great chemistry among them all. I was sad when I finally finished it, I definitely have plans of rewatching this amazing drama! One of my favorites! I’ve seen a lot of dramas by now, but this one is special, and I don’t think it’s just because it was one of my first dramas. If you haven’t seen it yet I highly recommend watching it! 😀 –crazy4you

Coffee Prince was my second Korean drama. I looked it up because of the main actress Yoon Eun Hye, I had initially seen her in Goong which was my first drama, but right after reading the synopsis  I became interested in the plot. I have always loved cross-gender themes, and being new to the Asian drama world I didn’t hesitate to give this one a try, and I have to say, I only regret not watching it over again every year after the first time. Coffee Prince is romantic beyond words, I felt myself more drawn to the characters with each episode, I never wanted it to end. After having watched other romcoms, I have learned that Coffee Prince broke grounds not only because of the taboo subjects it touches, like homosexuality, and  transgender, but also because it is one drama that openly projects love between a couple and makes it seem very real (I don’t wish to say how, so that I don’t spoil it for others). All in all, Coffee Prince is one romantic comedy that no one should miss. 🙂 -JADEEYES

 

Related Posts:

Coffee Prince Gallery

This has been a collaboration post by all the authors in The Dramatards. 🙂

Posted on January 4, 2012, in Dramas/Series and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. “deer-caught-in-the-headlights expression” RONTFLMAO it had to be sleepy 😉

Leave a Reply

