Review – Shining Inheritance

찬란한 유산

Also known as: Shining Inheritance / Brilliant Legacy / Beautiful Legacy / Chanranhan Yusan
Genre: Romance, family
Episodes: 28
Broadcast network: SBS
Broadcast period: 2009-Apr-25 to 2009-Jul-26

Main Leads:

Han Hyo Joo as Go Eun Sung
Lee Seung Gi as Sun Woo Hwan
Bae Soo Bin as Park Joon Sae
Moon Chae Won as Yoo Seung Mi 

Synopsis:

Go Eun Sung (Han Hyo Joo) has lived the life – her father who adored her was rich and always encouraged her to follow her dreams and let her study abroad in America. Her brother, Eun Woo (Yun Joon Suk), happens to be autistic, but she loves him with all of her heart. Her world was perfect until one night when everything turned around. On her flight back to Korea she accidentally switches bags with none other than Soo Woo Hwan (Lee Seung Gi) and it’s only the start of the events that start to unfold.

Eun Sung’s father suddenly is reported to be dead under mysterious circumstances and the family finds out that his company crashed – leaving him a huge number of debts to pay off! Her stepmother (Kim Mi Sook), seeing no reason to keep Eun Sung or her brother around, hands her a wad of money and sends them on their way in favor of her own daughter, Seung Mi (Moon Chae Won). 

To make things worse – Eun Woo disappears one day while Eun Sung is working. Desperate to find him she sets up flyers everywhere and works hard trying to earn money for when she finds him. During this time she also meets Park Joon Sae (Bae Soo Bin) who is always helping her out. And shortly after she gets a bit of luck after finding and taking in an old woman who’s lost her memory. Once she recovers her memory – she turns out to be Jang Sook Ja  (Ban Hyo Jung) – a wealthy CEO of a large food company. 

MDL Link

Like my Princess’ Man review, this is another review I’m copying off of another site (MyDramaList – my name is the same there). Shining Inheritance is a drama I fell in love with and I really wanted to post my review about it here to share! (: There are no spoilers, so don’t worry about that! The videos and pictures are teasers if anything (:

I just finished watching this drama a couple hours ago and I have to say it was really really good (: I agree with the other reviews when they say this drama isn’t boring and has you on the edge of your seat. It’s a roller coaster ride of emotion throughout the whole show. I’ve never come across a show filled up with so much hate and betrayal. I don’t think I’ve hated a character as much as I did the step mother, who I felt myself not liking more and more as I watched each episode. In the beginning you have Eun Sung who comes back from studying abroad in America and her bag winds up getting switched with Hwan. As the story takes off from there you have these 2 characters continuously running into each other. She and her brother get kicked out by her stepmother, and not long after she loses her brother, Eun-Woo who is autistic. Majority of the show she’s looking for him. While trying to make money she finds and starts to take care of this grandmother who’s lost her memory. I don’t want to say too much more, as I’d be giving away the story. Each episode had me guessing at what would happen next, and of course it leaves you hanging so you have to watch the next episode. This show made me cry, laugh, angry, but happy. Then you have the love triangles. It really is filled with a lot of drama and confliction, but that’s what made it so good. 

The acting in this show, well like the title it was Brilliant! You can really feel for the characters while watching it. I dunno how to describe it, but the acting was realistic. This was the first show I watched with Lee Seung Ki and Han Hyo Joo, and I plan on watching more dramas with them. And whoever played the step mom should’ve got an award. I hated her character but her acting was really good. Seung Mi’s character… I liked her in the beginning but you feel her falling under pressure as the events continue. Her character was played really well, you could feel how hard she wanted to keep what was hers (or what she felt was hers). Jun Sae’s character… I liked him. I felt bad for him later on in the story, he is a good guy. I’m glad at how the story ended, though.

As for the music…I liked it. The music played it’s part and I liked a lot of the songs played throughout the show. 

Will I rewatch this drama? Probably not anytime soon (too many dramas I wanna watch). Maybe a couple years from now I’ll rewatch it. 28 episodes is a lot to get through (almost 3O hours total), but I think that watching this show was worth it. 

Overall: Definitely worth watching. The story is really good, indeed like Cinderella in ways (evil step mom, step sister, “Prince Charming”). It makes you think about what money does to people. I’d have to count this as one of my favorites now (: And I loved Lee Seung Ki as Hwan haha, but that’s my personal opinion

It’s been about 6 months since I wrote this review, 6 months since I’ve watched this drama. Actually rewatching the teaser makes me want to watch the whole thing again! Go through all the emotions again, watch Seung Gi the way I first saw him. This drama made me a fan of him! From the first episode I thought he wasn’t your typical “pretty boy” lead, and there’s a scene where he sings in a Karaoke room – definitely won me over there. His voice! *excuse my inner fan* :p Han Hyo Joo I’ve now seen in the movie Heaven’s Postman, and while I liked her in that movie I still think her role here was best! After seeing Moon Chae Won in The Princess’ Man – definitely like her better as an actress! Her character in this drama was just so…pathetic really. It wasn’t that she was a bad actress, but her character is one that I found myself not liking in this drama so it was nice seeing her play a good role in The Princess’ Man (:

I loved all of the sweet and cute moments in it as well!

The music wasn’t anything that really stood out, but I did love the opening and ending theme songs and the one instrumental they played at the end of each episode when things were really heating up!

Opening song:

Ending song:

Instrumental:

The song Seung Gi sang in the Karaoke room (around episode 3 or 4):

A bonus song of Seung Gi’s that was played around episode 2O (the first song of his I fell in love with!)

Shining Inheritance is a Cinderella based story that even pulled ratings that were higher than Boys Over Flowers that year! Take a look – SI Ratings vs BOF Ratings.

I definitely recommend watching this drama! It’s a great drama, definitely an emotional roller coaster as well – pulled me in from the very first episode!

After 6 months and the fact I want to rewatch it really bad now…I still give it a full 1O/1O!
✩✩✩✩✩✩✩✩✩✩

Or you can stream it at DramaCrazy, Viki, or Dramafever!

Some pictures (:



Posted on January 15, 2012, in Dramas/Series and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked submit my
    comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over
    again. Anyway, just wanted to say wonderful blog!

  2. It’s going to be finish of mine day, except
    before ending I am reading this great paragraph to improve
    my know-how.

  3. Lee Seung Ki is back! It’s about time.

  4. Good day! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay. I’m absolutely enjoying your
    blog and look forward to new updates.

  5. I gave up about 9 or 10 episodes to the end. It was too heart breaking to see the good guy suffer so much. I just read a recap of the final episodes. I did the same for Princess Man. Princess Man annoyed me so much since it was literally Romeo and Juliet

    • haha It’s true, there was a lot of suffering in this drama, I guess that’s what drew me in. I just had to see how these characters would cope and overcome everything that was thrown at them.

      I haven’t seen PM yet, but it’s one I have been curious about. 🙂

  6. Girls, since you are The Authority concerning this drama, I come in need of help.
    I started it recently, but I’m having a very hard time going past episode 4. The main girl cries every time she’s on screen, the grandmother is given half of the screen time, I don’t understand the relationship between one and the other and it looks as though Eun Sung and Woo Hwan never meet, if not for some very brief moments… 😛 The adorable autistic brother is out of the picture.

    So here’s my question: can I skip the first episodes and go directly to the juicy part of it? Or is it like this all the way? Would you suggest I go read some recaps for the first episodes, so that I understand what’s going on?

    LOL,, don’t hate me. I’m not impressed by it, but I truly want to see this. 😀

    • Lol It’s ok. I understand that sometimes it’s too frustrating to get through the first few episodes of a drama. Especially one as drama packed as this. I would suggest going to the drama recaps and reading up on the first episodes. It is quite a lot to take in in the first few episodes, there was so much going on and they had a lot to cover to set the tone of the rest of the drama. I hope that helps.

      • Thank you sleepy. 😀
        Yes, I’m usually a bit deterred by long introductions and long premises. So you think reading the recaps for the first episodes won’t take out too much? That would solve my problem.
        I don’t usually do this. Honestly, if you weren’t so enthusiastic of it, I would have dropped it and period. But since you all liked it so much, I am truly willing to watch it. 🙂

        • Haha I don’t think it will take too much out of it. It may spark your interest enough to make you go back and watch those episodes. 😀

          • Sleepy,
            I’ve completed it! I feel like I’ve climbed a mountain: now I can face no matter what drama-hardship, lol.
            I am afraid I can’t really share your love for this drama, I suppose these kind of plots, with so many unfortunate coincidences and evilness are not really my cup of tea.
            I’m writing a review on MDL and you’re not going to like it, so if you see it just ignore it, hahaha.
            It was an entertaining ride though, and I thank you again for the encouragement. One thing is for sure: at some point, this drama becomes addictive and one can’t put it down no matter how frustrated one may be. 🙂
            You have a great weekend and please don’t hit me with anything too heavy. 😉

            • Uh, I forgot: in the end, I didn’t read the recaps: I watched all the episodes…


              … with some ff 😉

            • YAY! I’m glad you were able to finish it. It’s understandable. There were a lot of hardships in this drama as well as moments that just make you yell out in anger. haha Not everyone likes to watch those kinds of dramas. XD

              • Sorry I was no help at all in your decision! But I’m glad you finished it and I did read your review (: And as long as you didn’t hate it then I consider it a good thing (: The fact you managed to watch the last episodes so quickly does mean that you at least were into the drama and liked it enough to continue through with it. So even if it’s not your favorite I’m glad you were able to make it through it and handle the roller coaster it threw you on 😀

  7. My absolute favorite Korean drama! I loved everything about it (except the step-mother, I want someone to flay he in the dungeons). But back to the drama, it was the first time I saw Lee Seung Gi and what made me fall in love with his acting and singing. The acting, the story, everything about this drama was amazing. Not to mention it spoke to me on a personal level because of my brother and that fact that I myself have dealt with 3 neurological disorders. I know how hard it can be to deal with the way society treats people that have these kinds of problems. People like to shun that which is different. I wanted to annihilate that horrible ahjussi that was mistreating Go Eun Woo and calling him names. He obviously doesn’t know what the real definition of the word retarded is. It has nothing to do with having mental disabilities or disorders. Allow me to post the REAL meaning of the word retarded:

    verb (used with object)
    to make slow; delay the development or progress of (an action, process, etc.); hinder or impede.
    verb (used without object)
    to be delayed.
    noun
    a slowing down, diminution, or hindrance, as in a machine.

    Origin:
    1480–90; < Latin retardāre to delay, protract, equivalent to re- re- + tardāre to loiter, be slow, derivative of tardus slow; see tardy

    Related forms
    re·tard·ing·ly, adverb

    Synonyms
    1. obstruct, check

    Antonyms
    1. accelerate

    People who use the slang definition and think that it is the real meaning of the word are actually the ones who are retards. They are slow and stupid. :p

    Please forgive my sudden rant. 😉

    • haha Sleepy no reason to apologize 🙂 You are right about the word. I know some people use it without really meaning to insult, but because it is the slang that has been used for a long time and its just what we are used to. But that has to change, we need to start being more considerate of our surroundings and the people in our lives or outside of it because in reality we are all weak in heart and mind. People with mental disorders are not like that because they lack feelings or understanding of love, but because that is just the way life is. It could happen to anybody and we need to learn how to treat everyone with respect. I agree with you, and thank you for posting the meaning of the word, I tend to get like that sometimes when I’m very passionate and protective on a certain subject. People need to open their hearts and mind. 🙂

      • Agreed and haha yeah don’t apologize (: I think people do need to learn the real meaning of it – people are rude, they say things like that because they don’t understand and don’t care. So rant away! (:

  8. I will definitely watch this drama hahaha… it might be on my next pile of “on hold” I have sort of turned into a c4u/spleepy when it comes to choosing my dramas to watch. There are way too many dramas that are currently airing that I wish to watch so I have to be selective with the ones that aren’t airing any longer so that I may have time to watch all… but surely this one will fall under the list pretty soon 🙂
    SeungGi my twin!!!!!!!!! Im his noona :p

    • Hahaha I’ll be happy as long as you watch it :p
      And haha same! I’m trying to keep up with the on-airing dramas and it makes it harder to finish the ones that have already finished airing haha. Although I can’t complain, I’m only watching 3 dramas at the moment and have Padam Padam to catch up on…but then I plan on starting What’s Up… haha. Ohh and The Moon Embracing The Sun – but I’m putting that off until I’m done with Deep Rooted Tree.
      Soo many dramas, so little time! :p

      Haha Seung Gi is my Oppa! 😀

    • I’m going to watch it again too!! this is in my on-hold list too! hehehe..I’ve seen some episodes when it’s airing in my country..After finishing jdrama recommendations, I’ll return to watching this..

  1. Pingback: Review – My Girlfriend Is A Gumiho « The Dramatards

Leave a Reply

