Yoon Sang Hyun’s Biography

윤상현 / 尹相鉉

For more basic info and a list of his portfolio check out JADEEYES’ post: Yoon Sang-hyun’s Profile

Yoon Sang Hyun began his debut at the age of 32 in 2OO5. He took on acting after he had already done his military service and dabbed in various trades. He’s depicted mostly chaebols in his roles, but the one that was closest to him was My Fair Lady – as it mirrored his real life the most. An agency picked him up through a photo of him posted by a friend on the web.

When he was 25 his mom had persuaded him to give up on pursuing a career in music; he couldn’t perform as well when he went to auditions. But after he began his acting career he started placing high hopes in a singing career – he personally felt his singing was much better than his acting.

As a child, I wanted to be a scientist, but when I was in high school, I wanted to become a singer. But I failed all the auditions. No matter how well I could sing in karaoke bars, strangely enough my voice failed me at auditions. When I didn’t have a place to practice singing and did it in my room, people called me “crazy”. When I was in my mid-20s, my mother told me to stop singing. (Laughs.) And I never thought of acting. The agency that had promised to make me a singer offered me only roles in TV dramas. It was frustrating.

During his earlier years his acting was poor – the reason being he had a “phobia” of being near his female co-stars. It was a time when he would blush and become very nervous in front of them. This on top of his lack of experience caused many NG takes. He also had begun to doubt himself in the beginning – there were even times when he hid in the bathroom to cry and had told his agency he felt there was no way he could become an actor.

Here’s an interview from 2OO9 (translated) [and used in the above quote]: Yoon Sang-hyeon: ‘I Wanted to Be a Singer Before I Met Tae-bong’
He talks about his role from My Wife is a Superwoman – better known as Queen Of Housewives – and how he almost gave up acting.

I had no idea I would ever become a star. Before I was offered to appear in the MBC TV drama “Winter Bird”, I was going to quit show business once my contract with my agency was up. I just wanted to do business. I never felt comfortable acting. It was like wearing clothes that don’t suit you. Going to tapings was torture for me. Back then, I tried to find solace in drinking and smoking. I didn’t have any friends among actors and it wasn’t fun whatsoever. Somehow I debuted as an actor but I never dreamed of becoming one. If I played the part of, say, a manager, all I did was just look cool and drive a cool car, plus there were few lines for me to say.

If it hadn’t been for his chance at working with Yoon Eun Hye in My Fair Lady – he probably would still have his phobia of being near female co-stars. Yoon Sang Hyun’s stated that even though there was a fairly large gap between him and her, she was very mature and caring to others. Because of her, he was able to get over his fear – she worked with him and helped him overcome it.

We acted close during the filmings because we had a comfortable sibling-like relationship. I think the filming staff misunderstood our relationship because of that.

She is still a close dongsaeng (sister). Even after the drama ended, we still continued to call each other. Yoon Eun Hye even monitored the first airing of Family Outing 2 for me. She told me that she had fun watching the episode and comforted me with the words, ‘Variety is hard, huh?’ as a senior in the variety show business.

His shot to stardom came with his roles in Queen of Housewives (2OO9) and My Fair Lady (2OO9) – mostly the latter. Yoon Sang Hyun’s admitted that in his earlier days he had just been imitating acting. It wasn’t under his performance in Winter Bird that he started realizing that an actor had to do more than imitate and recite his lines. He learned he had to embrace the roles that he took on. It wasn’t long after learning this that he landed the role in Queen of Housewives as playboy C.E.O Heo Tae Joon. He gained an equal amount of fame for his supporting character and began his shot to fame.

In 2O1O he starred in his most popular drama to date: Secret Garden. Although Yoon Sang Hyun didn’t take on the lead role, his character was one that held the drama together – and what I mean by that is simply this: without Oska the drama wouldn’t have been as grand and great as it was. While every character was important, Oska’s role was just as important as the main leads.

The most recent drama that Yoon Sang Hyun has starred in was the 2O11 drama Can’t Live With Losing. He acted as a main lead alongside co-star Choi Ji Woo. The two were nominated for MBC Best Couple Award Nominees List for 2011 Drama Awards. They also were nominated for 2011 MBC Best Kiss Award.

He began his singing career after Queen of Housewives – it was a big hit! In 2OO9 he released two singles in Japan. His first full-length studio album, Precious Days, was released in February of 2O11 in Japan. The album even included a special photobook of unreleased pictures of him. February 15th, 2O12 is when his next single cd is supposed to be released. The single will include a remake of Say Goodbye to Sorrow from a rock band called Anzen Chitai and also a remake of the song Can’t Lose from his most recent drama, Can’t Live With Losing.

(Extra)

◊ When he landed his role in Queen of Housewives he went to a fortune teller and the fortune teller told him that if he sang in the show everything would flow smoothly for him (and they did!)

◊ First Korean actor to release an album in Japan

◊ “I give up as quickly as I decide if it doesn’t seem right. I think it’s convenient” – he stated this when he confessed his feelings for co-star Ha Ji Won in Secret Garden

“I think it would be fun to date Choi Ji Woo in real life” – he confessed he had an interest in his co-star from Can’t Lose

◊ He felt more at ease when fewer people recognized him, in the earlier days before his rise to stardom

◊ Appointed as Switzerland’s Ambassador for tourism on June 27, 2011

◊ 2009 17th Korean Culture and Acting Awards : Best Acting Award for TV Drama (Queen of Housewives)

◊ 2009 KBS Drama Awards: Best Couple Award (with Yoon Eun Hye in Take Care of the Young Lady)

◊ 2009 KBS Drama Awards: Popularity Award (Take Care of the Young Lady)

◊ 2009 MBC Drama Awards: Male Top Excellence Award (Queen of Housewives)

◊ 2006 SBS Drama Awards: New Star Award

Yoon Sang Hyun – I remember him mostly as Oska! I’ve only seen him in one drama so far – of course: Secret Garden (: I thought he did a terrific job there, although it was a drama where I found myself loving the entire cast! I’ve only recently started listening to his music, having him as our highlight helped with that (: I love “Here I Am” and “Liar”! I think he really does have a great voice and he’s definitely become a great actor!  I look forward to seeing more with him! Plus he seems like such an outgoing and nice guy – and his star sign is a Virgo like me :p

Posted on January 18, 2012, in Actors and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Had been in actual fact trying to find just an average shower
    enclosures before I stubled onto this site, did not even know there were any
    such thing as a ‘steam shower enclosure’, fantastic,
    may very well just may have to buy one

  2. Elizabeth McCormick

    One of my favorites in Secret Garden, just love his character. Now i have to find more of his work to watch. Great voice and oh, so handsome and cute all in one. Great smile

  3. Lorenza González

    Recientemente he visto en la televisión de Cuba ( mi país) dos telenovelas de este magnífico actor y cantante coreano y todos en casa hemos quedado encantados con él. Mucho me gustaría tener su foto autografiada, pero no sé cómo podría obtenerla. Gracias por ser tan buen artista y poder nosotros disfrutar de su arte.

    • Oh que honor tener una lectora Cubana 😀 Yo soy Cubana tambien. Vivo en Miami, y me encantan las novelas coreanas por eso me junte con dos amigas para compartir nuestras experiensas.
      Ahora, lo de la foto no se como podriamos conseguirla, pero voy a ser mi investigacion y te digo que descubro. Gracias por tu comentario, y que vengas mas seguido a visitarnos.
      Muchos saludos.

      • Lorenza González

        Gracias y me alegro mucho de nuestra coincidencia acerca de este magnífico artista y, si logras esncontrar la vía para obtener la foto autografiada, te agradeceré que me indiques la vía para obtener una yo también. Recibe un saludo afectuoso.

  4. Thank you for this blog. I am Jeezvive, a self-confessed avid fan of YSH. I have just found out about your blog and I am extremely happy to know that YSH is attracting more and more people.

    You may be interested to know that YSH was appointed as Switzerland’ ambassador for tourism, Switzerland’s Friend, by the Switzerland Tourism Authority during a ceremony last June 27, 2011 in Zurich, Switzerland.

    Korean report http://www.tvreport.co.kr/cindex.php?c=news&m=newsview&idx=130493
    English report http://en.korea.com/secretgarden/news/yoon-sang-hyun-appointed-as-a-%E2%80%9Cswitzerland%E2%80%99s-friend%E2%80%9D-in-zurich/

    • And thank you for stopping by and commenting (:

      And I think I did hear about that before but I forgot to add it to the bio, thanks for the info (: I’ll have to add this bit to it 😀

    • Hi Jeezvive!!! welcome to our blog, and glad you like what we have done here 🙂
      Did you check his profile post? We have that information there plus his filmography and discography 🙂

      Thank you for commenting, and hope to see you around, we are all fans of Yoon Sang Hyun here 🙂

    • Thanks so much for the info! I am a huge YSH fan too. High 5!

  5. Yay I love this actor. I have to admit, when Take Care of The Young Lady first came out and I was reading about the casting and so on, I asked myself why had they cast someone way older than her to play the lead. I was not really interested in the drama because at first it was rumored that Kang Dong Won was to be the leading man and being a fan of him more than of his work (at the time) I wanted to see him in something new and that I would like -with Yoon Eun Hye nonetheless. They changed the casting, or he happened to be just a rumor so I was let down, and didn’t want to give YSH a chance… I know, I was being stupid. Sooo… to make the long story short (lol) I later saw him in SG and realized he was that actor from all those other drama I had seen in which he played the second lead, hahaha, Marrying A Millionaire, One Mom and Three Dads, and so on. I did love Oska, he stole the show imo. Months later I watched TKOTYL and loved him even more.
    Oppa!!!!!!!!!!!! Okay, I better stop acting like I’m Korean lol. Oska of our hearts!! Don’t ever give up!

  6. I love him! I love his all of his songs but my absolute favorite is “Helpless Love”. He’s definitely on my top 5 Korean actors list 😀 I’ve seen him in two dramas now (Secret Garden and Take Care of the Young Lady)and loved him in both. I’m so glad that he kept persevering and pursuing an acting and singing career. He’s so incredibly talented with both. And it’s so sweet that Yoon Eun Hye was able to help him and support him, now his career has really taken off! 😀 I look forward to seeing more of him in the future.

Leave a Reply

