MBLAQ’s “It’s War” MV Review

On January 9, 2O12, the awaited video from MBLAQ for “It’s War” was released. They had released a few teasers for it – each of them just making it look better and better! For those interested, I’ve posted them below!

The teasers definitely made the wait for this music video hard! There were many people that really wanted to watch it, and when the MV was finally released – I don’t think anyone (or at least hardly anyone) was disappointed. I myself am not a huge MBLAQ fan – what I mean is that I’ve listened to some of their songs before, and while I may have liked them, none really stayed a huge favorite or really just stuck with me. This song was an exception, I’m still listening to it! I love it! Haven’t seen it yet? Watch it now!!

The video had me on the edge of my seat – from the orchestra to the dancing to the bullets being curved almost like in the movie Wanted. The part of the song where Joon grabs the girl’s hand and pulls her out, where the vocals stop but the music keeps going – the first time I watched it I got a chill. I was really taken aback by this song and video – absolutely loved it! Which is why I must review it!! And post Simon & Martina’s review on it at the end since they have one for it (:

My Review (Out of 5)

Music: As mentioned already, the music was really good! I loved the orchestra in the background and the vocals were also done really well. I don’t have any complaints about it. The rap was done well. What can I say? The music was just good – period. It’s one of those few songs I’d actually listen to as an instrumental.
Because I loved it so much, I give it a ✩✩✩✩✩

Photobucket

Dancing: The dancing was also another part that was done well. MBLAQ definitely has their own style of dancing. It fit with the music, too. Also loved how when Joon shot the bullet and it hit his neck, how he falls when it switches screens – as part of the dance. Even in their live performances he did it. I thought it was done really well.


Is it too much if I give it another  ✩✩✩✩✩ ?

Chemistry: It doesn’t feel that this is as important here as it was with the Trouble Maker MV. There was enough chemistry to make it work out well. Not going to give this a rating.

Acting: There was a little bit of acting going on in this video – after all, both Lee Joon and Thunder take on roles in the story. I thought they both did a good job. Joon has previous acting experience from when he was in Ninja Assassin (which I didn’t know until I started watching their Idol Army. Which I’m still currently watching haha) and he put his skills to good use in this video. He used all the right expressions, seemed that he was this assassin he was portraying. Thunder also did a good job. Being the guy who starts to like the girl his friend likes, he who has nothing and doesn’t even have his own home. I think he pulled off the part well.
I give it a  ✩✩✩✩✩

Outfits: MBLAQ definitely had some cool outfits for this video. The black leather outfits suited them and it fit for the theme of the video as war outfits. And the outfits worn in the story part of the video also didn’t look out of place and worked fine.
I give it  ✩✩✩✩

Lyrics:

Shut up, I don’t even wanna hear it
Beg until your tears dry up
I will see the end of this, just watch
You messed with the wrong person

We were in love and I only had her
But why, why did you touch my girl – no way

I brush myself off and get up
As much as I suffered, you just watch
You mess with love, you mess with friendship – just watch

Just at the thought of you, my body shakes
I can’t forgive you – from now on –

It’s war, you coward – just watch
You made her cry again
You coward, you, who messed with my love
It’s war

On the day she left, you pretended not to know and told me to forget it all
I trusted you, you were my friend – how could you do this to me
I will curse you from now on

Will you please shut that dirty mouth
I will give back these painful tears to you
Engrave this in your ear – I will never leave you alone

You probably knew that I would find out sometime
I can’t forgive you – from now on –

It’s war, you coward – just watch
You made her cry again
You coward, you just watch – you made her cry again
(Don’t you cry cry cry) She’s crying because of you again
(She said bye bye bye bye bye) It’s all over now
(Don’t you cry cry cry)
You, who messed with my love – It’s war

It’s war, you coward – just watch
You made her cry again
You coward, you just watch – you made her cry again
(Don’t you cry cry cry) She’s crying because of you again
(She said bye bye bye bye bye) It’s all over now
(Don’t you cry cry cry)
You, who messed with my love – It’s war

(copied lyrics from: Michyeoga’s Blog)

The lyrics go along with the music video for the most part. I like the lyrics, too. It’s a song about a guy being betrayed by his best friend. The guy was in love with this girl but his best friend steals her from him – so from now on “It’s War”
I give it  ✩✩✩✩✩

Story: The story basically is Joon is supposed to kill this girl but he winds up saving her instead and he’s in love with her. He has to leave so he leaves his friend to take care of her because she was shot and while he’s gone the two develop feelings for each other.
[As with my Trouble Maker MV Review, I’m going to use screencaps to go into detail of the story. I watched it a number of times]

Photobucket

The story starts off at the end, we see Joon aiming a gun at this girl who’s trying to protect Thunder. And then a bullet flying towards him as he’s crying.

Photobucket

The story flashes back to the beginning of it all. Joon is some sort of assassin, we see him holding a picture of a girl and after verifying that it’s the right one, he sets his aim on her. (Note: I just noticed now the “Press esc to exit full screen mode on the 2nd picture. Haha. My bad!)

Photobucket

Joon sets his aim, he’s about to pull the trigger – and we notice some other guy showing up on the scene!

Photobucket

The girl doesn’t notice anything, she’s on the phone – oblivious. The other guy cocks his gun. Joon turns around and decides to go save the girl. Not completely sure if it was because he saw the other guy, or because he had a change of heart. Maybe he’s actually met the girl before – it’s not explained. The girl is still on the phone but Joon must have grabbed her hand and pulled her away.

Photobucket

He pulled her away from being out in the open. And she’s no longer on the phone. I’m going to assume that they’ve been with each other for awhile. Why? Because it’s bright daylight in the above screenshots and now it seems closer towards evening. Joon takes her hand and starts running – the guy who was in the car starts running after them and pulls his gun out and shoots the girl in the shoulder.

Photobucket

Joon has a gun (so does the other guy) but they start attacking each other by punching and kicking.

Photobucket

He has the other guy knocked down and he brings his gun forward and shoots him. After finishing the job, he runs off. (I wonder what happened to that other guys body since he ran off like that…)

Photobucket

Now we see Thunder about to dig into some ramen when Joon walks in with the girl. Thunder doesn’t really know what to make of it at first, Joon looks at him – pretty much either asking “can she stay here until I figure things out?” or  saying “she’s going to stay here until I figure things out”

Photobucket

The scene cuts and the music temporarily stops. we see Joon standing over a table filled with weapons. He seems to be thinking about how he was taking care of her.
Photobucket
Joon takes aim and shoots his gun – curving the bullet so it goes around the empty bottle and shoots the one behind it shattering it to pieces. (I think the point of this scene was to show how he’s able to curve the bullets almost like they did in the movie Wanted.)

Photobucket

We see Thunder digging through a junkyard. It leads to the assumption that he’s homeless – he doesn’t have much of anything. (I’m wondering if the house they’re at is Joon’s, maybe Thunder just  stays with him sometimes). Joon is taking care of the girl one last time. He leaves a message for Thunder posted on a picture of the two of them. The message basically says “Take care of her while I’m gone” (I googled for the message, I can understand some hangul and can read it but my Korean isn’t very good yet :/)

Photobucket

So Thunder is left taking care of her. And the two of them start to bond. (I also noticed how the clock seems to be at the same exact time! Except it doesn’t show the first number here, just that it ends in 01. In the screenshots above the clock is at 7:01. Coincidence? Or maybe the  clock is broken..)

Photobucket

We don’t know for sure how long Joon was gone or how long it’d been in general. It could’ve been a couple of days. It could have been a couple of weeks. The girl’s health has improved by now and she’s taking a step on her own. She finds him sleeping in a mini RV out in the junkyard (the house must be really close).

Photobucket

She wakes him up and he smiles at her. She must’ve invited him to go back to the house to sleep.

Photobucket

She wakes up and goes over and sits next to him reaching for his hand. Then she leans over and kisses him on the cheek.

Photobucket

The two of them share mutual feelings and are enjoying each other’s company when who comes back? Right – Joon! He walks in on their happy moment and he does not looked pleased one bit.

Photobucket

The girl doesn’t want to leave but Joon grabs her hand and pulls her away. Thunder is left staring at him, hoping to explain, but Joon won’t have it. He takes the girl and leaves. Thunder catches up and grabs Joon’s arm, pulling his hand from the girls’.

Photobucket

Joon’s surprised at first and the two of them start fighting. Joon knocks Thunder down and the girl runs over to his side.

Photobucket

The boys get up, the girl getting in front of Thunder hoping to protect him. Joon takes out his gun and aims.

Photobucket

The girl steps in front of Thunder trying to protect him as Joon takes aim and fires his gun. Time slows down and the bullet starts to curve and boomerangs back around and hits him right in the neck!

Photobucket

Thunder and the girl are both stunned and shocked. Joon falls and hits the ground and the two of them run over to his side.

Photobucket

Joon’s at the end of his life, Thunder and the girl are at a loss as to what to do. Joon pulls out two plane tickets and the girl starts crying. (I’m assuming that the reason why Joon left in the first place was to go ahead and get these tickets so that the girl would be safe. Because for some reason she’s wanted dead. And for that reason alone it’s probably safe to say he didn’t get those tickets overnight)

Photobucket

Joon gives out his last breath and dies. Thunder is left with a pained expression on his face but he understands what Joon was trying to tell him. Take the plane tickets and leave with her, take her somewhere safe.

Overall I felt the story was very well done. There were a few gaps in it; parts that could have been explained more, but being only a music video I can’t complain too much. Also I feel that Joon was a bit drastic in killing himself at the end. I didn’t think it the first few times I watched it – was too caught up in the music. But it kind of makes me feel that there could have been another way for him to work things out. He didn’t even give Thunder a chance, he just kind of up and decided “Hey, she obviously likes him, maybe he would do a better job of taking care of her than anything I could do. I’d only make her unhappy”. I feel he made a hasty decision – one of those “in the heat of the moment” ones. It really was a good story for a music video though.
Because of the gaps though, the highest I can give it is a  ✩✩✩✩

My overall rating for it would have to be ✩✩✩✩✩ out of 5

Photobucket

And that’s it for my review! I’m trying to keep this schedule of posting one review per week up so be looking out for the one for next week! I already know which MV to review (: I mentioned that I’m going to pick more recent songs – as in songs that have been out for no more than a month. This song is another exception because I’ve had this review planned since the video came out. There might be a time later on when I do a couple throwback reviews and pick some of my favorite music videos or pick videos from my favorite artists. Hope you liked this review!!

Here’s Simon & Martina’s review on it!

Also for anyone who enjoys watching MVs with the subtitles embedded on it check out this video! 

Posted on February 9, 2012, in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Haha I agree, I liked the story. Sure there were some confusing parts to it…….but it’s a music video and it’s only what? $ minutes long? It’s hard to show a clear story without any plot holes in that short amount of time. I loved the music and the choreography. And their outfits were hot. 😀 Love your review.

    • Haha agreed (: And they added an extra minute in the actual video when they paused the music. But still – not enough time to go into full detail. Now if they had made it into one of those 1O or 2O minute videos I wonder how it’d have turned out. Haha.
      And I loved it all, too! 😀 Thanks! (:

      • Haha I wonder what it would be like too. I would watch it 😀 Michael Jackson’s Thriller was extended way past the song so that a cleared story could be shown. I see nothing wrong with others doing the same. Plus that means more time to ogle those pretty boys 😉

  2. Awesome review… the story seems like if you were watching a movie when you look at the pictures. 🙂

Leave a Reply

