Yamato Nadeshiko Shichi Henge

Yamato Nadeshiko Shichi Henge (The Wallflower, also known as Perfect Girl Evolution) is an adaptation from a manga of the same name written by Tomoko Hayakawa. The drama was serialized on TBS from January 15- March 19, 2010, with only 10 episodes. Perfect Girl Evolution was adapted to the screen by Shinozaki Erikom, and directed by Ishii Yasoharu.  The series took awards from the Nikkan Sports Drama Grand Prix for Best drama, Best actor, and Best supporting actress.

This is the dark story of four boys whom are given the difficult mission of transforming the wallflower, and the love that blossoms between them. Skulls and imaginary friends are here for the ride!

The Wallflower

My Drama List page

Synopsis: The story centers around four beautiful boys whom in order to live for free at a mansion have to turn a reclusive and ill-manner girl into a lady. Takano Kyuohei is in college and has to work part times to support himself, he lacks money but he has been gifted with incredible handsome looks and charms. He is followed by girls -or more like stalkers-, and often sexually-harassed by his manager. Tired of having to deal with it, he accepts Ms Nakahara proposition: to live in her mansion for free with three other gorgeous boys who for some reason or the other are in the same position as he is, however, they have to turn her nice, Sunako, into a refine lady. The boys don’t seem a problem with this offer, until they meet Sunako; a spooky, dark and wild girl, wearing a cape and long bangs that cover her face, with a love for skulls and horror.  Here is when their unpredictable and scary life together begins. — JADEEYES

There are no available videos for the trailer of this drama; however the opening theme is very peculiar, and I thought you would enjoy it. XD

Our thoughts on Yamato Nadeshiko Shichi Henge:

I started off reading the manga, and I have never read a manga that made me laugh as hard as this one. The story is so hilarious and I love the mixture of cute and creepy. ( I just so happen to be a horror fan) I love the casting choices for the drama, they fit the characters so well. Especially Sunako, great choice for her. I loved the little boy in the drama even if he had nothing to do with the manga. He was able to tie the drama together in a way. I don’t know why, but I feel that somehow the drama wouldn’t have worked without him. My favorite parts of the drama were when she would say how bright it is and then head butt the guy and the scenes when she was talking to Akira, Josephine, and Hiroshi. XD-sleepninja

I think it’s a sweet story. It wasn’t a drama that really stood out to me, although I loved the opening song (by KAT-TUN) and I did love Kame in the drama. Oomasa Aya also did a great job as Sunako. Yamato Nadeshiko Shichi Henge was a drama that seemed out there at times, funny at times, and sweet and cute at others. The ending was my favorite part of the drama (:-crazy4you

After having read the manga, and watching the anime, the drama was like the last addition to my Yamato obsession. It was not one of my first Asian dramas, but it was one of the first Jdramas I watched, and even when I was coming from the Kdrama world, I still loved the weirdness and off-the-wall happenings in Yamato. Because Yamato is based on a manga, its not a story to be taken seriously; its meant for you to laugh, and feel the tender moments. However, it does have a strong message and that is one of the things I like about Yamato. While it is a very odd story, it still holds a strong message for the viewer. I loved the drama, and I thought the actors were well cast, they all did a good job. -JADEEYES


This has been a collaboration post by all the authors in The Dramatards. 🙂

Posted on March 7, 2012, in Dramas/Series and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I love this drama it is one of my favourites

  1. Pingback: The Characters from Yamato Nadeshiko Shichi Henge (: « The Dramatards

Leave a Reply

