BoA Kwon

BoA

Birth name: 권보아 (Kwon Boa)
Hanja: 權寶雅
Stage Name: BoA (Beat of Angel)
Date of Birth: November 5, 1986
Place of Birth: South Korea
Hometown: Gyeonggi-do, South Korea
Languages Spoken: Korean, Japanese, English
Religion: Catholic
Date of debut: August 25, 2000 when she was 13 years old
Years active: 2000–present
Most Influential Artists: Michael Jackson, Ne-Yo, Justin Timberlake, Seo Taiji
Music Genres: Pop, dance, electropop, electronica, R&B, ballad
Occupations: Singer, songwriter, composer, dancer, model, actress, voice actress, record producer, occasional guitar player
Labels: SM Entertainment (South Korea), Avex Trax (Japan), SM Entertainment (USA), United Asia Management

BoA is a popular Korean singer who’s active not only in South Korea, but also in Japan and the United States. She’s sometimes referred to as the “Queen of Korean Pop Music

She was born and raised in Gyeonggi-do, South Korea, and was discovered by SM Entertainment talent agents as she was accompanying her older brother to a talent search. After 2 years of training she released her debut Korean album, ID; Peace B. Two years later she debuted in Japan with her album Listen to My Heart. She became the first Kpop star to break through in Japan – following the fall of the barriers that had once restricted the import and export of entertainment between Korea and Japan since the ending of World War II.

BoA made her debut in the States on October 14, 2008, with the single “Eat You Up“. She released her debut English language album, BoA, on March 17, 2009.

Her language skills (Japanese, English, and Korean – also she has recorded songs in Mandarin Chinese) have contributed to her commercial success throughout East Asia. To this day she’s the only foreign artist to have two albums selling more than one million copies in Japan and is also one of only three artists to have six consecutive number-one studio albums on the Oricon charts since her debut (the others being Ayumi Hamasaki and Koda Kumi). BoA is the only Korean artist.

Official website
Official Japanese website
Official US website

Videos:

ID; Peace B” – debut, she was only 13

Sara” – off of her first album, ID; Peace B. It’s said the song is actually about her cat named “Sara” – but it might just be a rumor.

Listen to My Heart” – off of her first Japanese album, Listen to My Heart.

Eat You Up” – American debut song

BoA was one of the very first Korean artists I ever listened to. Actually, to be honest, I believe she was the first. Back when I was listening to anime and Jpop music I discovered BoA through an ending song to an anime. The anime was Inuyasha, the song was “Every Heart”. Of course, it was a Japanese song, and not knowing any better – I knew nothing about her. Later on I discovered more of her Japanese music and also discovered a few of her Korean songs. The first Korean song I heard by her was “Sara” – I remember back when Comcast had this Asian channel I had watched it a lot and late at night they’d play Korean music videos. I never knew any of the artists, so, ashamed to say but I hardly ever tuned in. One night though I did and it was the first song that came on. I remember listening to it because I recognized her name and was like “Wow I love it.” BoA is very talented and although I’ve neglected listening to her new stuff, I’m still a fan of her old stuff. To be honest though, I miss her old style.crazy4you

Sources:

http://www.boajjang.com/index.php?id=16

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BoA

Posted on April 24, 2012, in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

