Review – My Girlfriend Is A Gumiho

내 여자친구는 구미호

Also known as: My Girlfriend is a Gumiho / Nae Yeojachinguneun Gumiho
Genre: Romance, Comedy, Fantasy, Drama
Episodes: 16
Broadcast network: SBS
Broadcast period: August 11, 2010 to September 30, 2010
Director: Boo Sung Chul (부성철)
Screenwriter: Hong Mi Ran, Hong Jung Eun

Main Leads:

Lee Seung Ki as Cha Dae Woong
Shin Min Ah as Gumiho
No Min Woo as Park Dong Joo
Park Soo Jin as Eun Hye In
Byun Hee Bong as Cha Poong (Dae Woong’s grandfather)
Yoon Yoo Sun as Cha Min Sook (Dae Woong’s aunt)
Sung Dong Il as Ban Doo Hong

Synopsis: Cha Dae Woong, a pampered rich boy, runs away from his grandfather one day and winds up accidentally freeing a gumiho (nine-tailed fox) who had been closed in a painting for 500 years. The Gumiho took the form of a beautiful woman and appeared in front of him. Dae Woong, realizing what had happened, became frightened and ran away from her until he fell on a riverbank and severely injured himself. The Gumiho came to save him and gave him her most precious bead. By doing this she shared with him the mystic fox’s strength, as she owed him her freedom she took this chance. After he awakens, Gumiho asks him if he can help her to become human and teach her how to act like one. In return, she’ll allow him to use her bead to help him heal while he participates in the shooting of his dream action movie, despite his body’s severe condition. As time goes by, their mutual relationship grows deeper as they develop feelings for each other.

MDL Link

I’m reposting this from MyDramaList

Spoiler Code: Green

To start off…I honestly loved this drama! The story is really unique and original and I fell in love after the first episode. It’s really funny, filled with drama, and also heartbreaking in parts. This is the 2nd show I’ve watched that was written by the Hong Sisters (first being You’re Beautiful), and so far I’m liking their style of dramas. Also You’re Beautiful fans might enjoy seeing 3 of the characters showing up randomly in this drama haha (: (says so in the cast so it’s not a spoiler…haha)

The acting is amazing! I originally watched this story because of Lee Seung Gi (first watched him in Shining Inheritance and loved him there) and his acting is really good in this drama! I loved him as Dae Woong, and there’s no denying he’s got one amazing smile (haha). This was the first drama I’ve watched with Shin Min A but I have to say her acting was done really good as well. She does a great job of pulling off learning things for the first time, and there’s nothing bad I can say about her character. It’s hard not to like her (: Now for the other guy, No Min Woo, it seems most people liked his character better than Dae Woong because of his looks. Personally, I didn’t care for his character as much (only because I liked Dae Woong) – his acting was good though. The noona really got on my nerves in the show, but that just means her portrayal of her character was done well.

The Director and Dae Woong’s Aunt make up for a lot of the funny parts in the show haha. Every time they’re together you’ll find yourself going “Here we go” haha. If you don’t like cheesy scenes, you might not like their characters.

The soundtrack has officially become one of my favorites! I love the music, especially Seung Gi’s songs and “Fox Rain.”

Will I rewatch this series? Not anytime soon (because there’s so many dramas I wanna watch!), but I can see myself rewatching this show again down the road, it’s become one of my favorites – I absolutely loved it! The only thing I wish is that it were a little longer, but I still found it great!

Overall – Watch it! (: If you’re looking for something funny, sad, different with a great soundtrack and actors, this’ll definitely be a must watch (:

I wrote this review back in August (it’s almost been a year already) and this drama still remains one of my all time favorites! I just loved everything about it. I’m hoping to rewatch it again sometime this year. Lee Seung Gi is still my all time favorite Korean actor!

“Fox Rain” – Lee Sun Hee

“Losing My Mind” – Lee Seung Gi

“Hoi Hoi Song” – Lee Seung Gi

“I Love You From Now On” – Lee Seung Gi

My overall rating for this drama would be a 10/10
✩✩✩✩✩✩✩✩✩✩

Stream it here: DramaCrazy, Viki, Dramafever, Mysoju, Epdrama, Kimchidrama

Gallery:

Related Posts:

The Fox Owner’s Guide

Lee Seung Gi Gallery

Lee Seung Gi’s Profile

Review – Shining Inheritance

Lee Seung Gi to star in a new drama!! :D

King2Hearts – Are you excited for it??

Posted on May 29, 2012, in Dramas/Series and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

