The Best Love Stories Begin With a Kiss

Code Blue

It Started with a Kiss

Also known as: 惡作劇之吻 (恶作剧之吻); O Tso Chu Chih Wen; E Zuo Ju Zhi Wen

Country: Taiwan

Year: 2005

Photobucket

Synopsis:

After an earthquake destroyed Xiang Qin’s house, she and her father moved in with the family of her father’s college buddy, Uncle Ah Li. To her surprise, the kind and amicable aunt and uncle are the parents of her cold and distant schoolmate Jiang Zhi Shu, a genius with an IQ of 200 whom not too long ago rejected her endless crush on him. Will the close proximity give her a second chance to win Zhi Shu’s heart? Or, will her love for him end under his cold words? What happens when there is competition for his heart? –Dramawiki

Visit this page for more details: MDL

Trailers/Videos




“It Started with a Kiss is the Taiwanese live adaptation of the widely popular shojo manga, Itazura na Kiss. This was my second Taiwanese drama and I absolutely loved it! It’s one of those dramas that I love more and more as time passes. I think about it now and say,” Wow! I enjoyed it so much that I want to start it over.”

The cast was great. They really fit their roles perfectly. The only exception might be the female antagonist. I felt the actress could have tried a bit harder with that role, but I was still plenty frustrated with her character. In other words, her character served its purpose.


Moving on to Ah Jin, words cannot express how much I loved this character! Jiro Wang was able to take the character straight out of the manga, embrace him, and make him 10 times more lovable. Ah Jin’s sweetness and devotion melted my heart. When he wasn’t melting my heart, his antics induced side-splitting laughter. Okay, I lied. Words CAN express how I feel about Ah Jin. It just takes a lot of words to do so.


Now for the leads… Xian Qin is quite naïve, isn’t she? Sometimes it was to the point of frustration. I like to analyze characters though. So I thought a lot about who she was, personality-wise. I came to the conclusion that she was innocent and child-like. Not insultingly so, in my opinion, it was endearing. She views things with the eyes of a child. She is inexperienced in love, yet her feelings are more genuine than most. She falls in love with Zhi SHu and that’s it, game over. Sorry if I am being repetitive, but it makes me think of this:


Child – “I want that one!”
Parent – “Oh honey, you don’t want that one. Wouldn’t you rather have this or this?”
Child – “No, I want that one!”

Zhi Shu is a serious, scientific type of person. He can be quite cold towards people, especially Xian Qin. He finds her childishness annoying and pushes her away. However, no matter how many times he pushes her away, she still comes back to him. A crack appears in his armor. Suddenly, he finds her innocence intriguing. Instead of giving her the cold shoulder, he begins to treat her in a teasing manner. Perhaps this relationship isn’t completely one-sided after all.

*ahem* Please allow me a moment to fangirl over the chemistry between Joe Cheng and Ariel Lin. Squeeeeeeeeee! Okay, back to the review.

I was pleased with the growth and development of the characters. The changes weren’t huge or drastic. They were subtle and realistic. There were some moments that dragged, but not once did I consider it too boring or droppable. The soundtrack was great. I especially loved the opening song. It fit this drama perfectly. Would I watch this drama again? 100% yes!

I rated it a 9/10

✩✩✩✩✩✩✩✩✩

Posted on October 23, 2012, in Dramas/Series and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Yay! full review!😀

    Great one too. You should do more full reviews, you are good at it🙂

  2. lol, I really like your style of reviewing, I wish I could be that analytic or say more good with words. Moi like it!!!

Leave a Reply

