Upcoming Anime: Suisei no Gargantia

Suisei no Garagantia

A new science fiction/mecha anime from the writer of ‘Madoka Magica’, titled ‘Suisei no Gargantia’, will air in Japan tomorrow (April 7th). I have not found out how many episodes they will have total, but I did hear that Bandai pre-released around 8,000 free copies of a Blu-Ray with the first two episodes on it. (I’m super jealous of those 8,000 recipients.) When I watched the trailer earlier today, I was intrigued and just had to know more about it.🙂

Title: Suisei no Gargantia

Also Known As: Gargantia on the Verdurous Planet

Synopsis:
The story begins in the distant future in the far reaches of the galaxy. The Human Galactic Alliance has been constantly fighting for its survival against a grotesque race of beings called “Hidiaazu.” During an intense battle, the young lieutenant Redo and his humanoid mobile weapon Chamber are swallowed up into a distortion of time and space. Waking from his artificially induced hibernation, Redo realizes that he has arrived on Earth, the planet on the lost frontier. On this planet that was completely flooded by the seas, people live in fleets of giant ships, salvaging relics from the seas’ depths in order to survive. Redo arrives on one of the fleets called Gargantia. With no knowledge of the planet’s history or culture, he is forced to live alongside Amy, a 15-year-old girl who serves as a messenger aboard the Gargantia fleet. To Redo, who has lived a life where he knows nothing but fighting, these days of peace continue to surprise him.

Opening Theme:

Based on what I have seen in the trailer and found out about this drama:

Pros:
• The synopsis intrigues me. I’m a sucker for stories involving survival of the human race.
• The character designs and the art style are aesthetically pleasing to me.
• I love the design of the mecha, it reminds me of the hard suits in Bubblegum Crisis.
• Decent music. I’ve only heard the opening theme, but it was pretty good. If the musical score in the trailer is actually from the series, then I will bump this up to excellent music.

Cons:
• This isn’t a definite negative aspect, but it is something that makes me leery of it. I noticed in the trailer that there is some CGI thrown in. In some cases, this works for the anime. In a lot of what I’ve seen though, it can ruin the experience. I just hope they aren’t too heavy-handed with the CGI.

I am definitely looking forward to watching this. Is anyone else going to give it a try?

Sources: 1, 2

Posted on April 6, 2013, in Animation/Manga and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

