Review: Soul

Soul
Also known as: Spirit ; Ghost ; Possessed ; Hon
Country: Korea

Soul
Synopsis:
Ha Na and Doo Na were twin sisters who were very close to each other until Doo Na died a terrible death. One day, the usually bright and energetic Ha Na finds herself changing. She has superhuman strength and can do things that nobody can. Ha Na realizes that Doo Na’s spirit has inhabited her body. Shin Ryu, a criminal psychoanalyst, uses Ha Na’s powers to kill people that cannot be punished by the law.
Visit this page for more details: MDL
Trailers:

 

Warning! The video below contains some spoilers!

My review:

This drama had so much potential. The acting was great and I loved the cinematography. The first seven episodes were absolutely riveting! I loved the dark theme and the psychology mixed with supernatural. Then everything went down hill. By episode nine, I was pretty tired of it, but still willing to continue. Then episode ten comes along and everything thing just completely fell apart and I was flabbergasted and ready to flip some tables. So what went wrong?

I blame most of this on the prologue. In the beginning, there was a prologue that really draws you in and hints at a very climactic ending. (I won’t give any details so that you won’t get spoiled) The problem with prologues are, if you use one, you better be very confident in your ending. Otherwise, everything just falls apart. Once you put that prologue out there for everyone to see, there is no going back. The writers were not prepared enough for the ending of this series.

Like I stated previously, the first seven episodes were brilliant. If it weren’t for that prologue, they could have cleanly ended it there. Instead they kept going for three more episodes. I felt that, after episode seven, the writers became very confused. They weren’t quite sure how to get from point A to point B. So they added a lot of filler. They still could have wrapped it up decently enough to satisfy the views. However, they decided to try and over complicate the storyline and then completely disregarded the prologue. Seriously, they didn’t even address it in the ending. It’s just left hanging there with no connection. It’s the worst continuity error I have seen in a long time. I was really very upset with this turn of events considering how good the acting and story was up until episode 7.

 
Overall I would rate this a 6.5. On MDL I rounded it up to a 7. I still felt that I should rate it in a way that would give the actors credit where it was due and I still think it was worth the watch.

✩✩✩✩✩✩✩

Posted on April 15, 2013, in Dramas/Series and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

