The Dramatards Anticipate! Upcoming and Currently Airing Dramas.

In this post we will highlight currently airing and upcoming dramas that we find the most promising. ^^ 2014 looks like it’s off to a strong start in the drama world!

Incisive Great Teacher

XiLiRenShi-2013_zps7791b308

Synopsis:

Emperor decrees that women may now attend classes in a school. But his effort to promote gender equality was opposed by the traditional forces. To ensure smooth integration, special agent Liu Ao Tian was sent to the school to be a teacher. He brought with him a group of highly diverse students to challenge the school’s age old tradition. (Dramawiki)

Cast:

Nicky Wu as Liu Ao Tian
Liu Shi Shi as Lu Yu Fei
Huo Zheng Yan as Nie Wen Xing
Emma Wu as Song Wen Wen
Ye Zu Xin as Fan Da Tong
Yue Yao Li as Liu Yi Shou
Wei Lai as Mo Tong
Wallace Huo as Li Da Ren
Cheng Pei Pei as Zhao De Zhu
Kou Zhen Hai as Gongsun Yi

Air Date: Unknown

Genre: Historical. School, Comedy

So I’ve really wanted to start some sort of historical Chinese drama for a long time now. This one definitely caught my eye. I like the premise. In fact, the very first line of the synopsis already convinced me that this is something I would want to watch. I am really curious to see how this drama handles it. I hope that there will be plenty of great, inspiring scenes about education. To be sure, there will be some funny moments. The promotional stills show that the cast had a lot of fun on set. -Sleepninja

Watashi no Kirai na Tantei

tantei

Synopsis:

Akemi Ninomiya (Ayame Gouriki) is a hardcore mystery fan. Although she is only a college student, she is wealthy and owns a building. Private Detective Morio Ukai (Hiroshi Tamaki) prefers tracking down lost pets for wealthy clients rather than murder cases which brings in little money. The duo join forces to solve various suspicious cases. (Asianwiki)

Cast:

Tamaki Hiroshi as Morio Ukai
Gouriki Ayame as Akemi Ninomiya
Shikanuma Yuki as Moe
Watanabe Ikkei as Sunagawa
Yasuda Misako as Miki
Shiraishi Shunya as Tomura Ryohei
Naito Risa as Satomi

Air Date: January 17, 2014

Genre: Detective, Investigation, Mystery, Comedy

Trailer:

I always like to watch at least one or two detective/mystery type dramas each year, so this one sounds like its right up my alley. I definitely love the way Japanese dramas handle this genre. The cast caught my eye as well. ^^ I really enjoyed Ayame Gouriki in the two dramas I have seen her in and Hiroshi Tamaki is one of my favorite Japanese actors. I’m very curious to see how well they play off of each other. -Sleepninja

Ressha Sentai ToQger

sentai

Synopsis:

2014 entry in Super Sentai series with trains as motif. (Mydramalist.com)

Cast:

Shison Jun as Raito
Sekine Tsutomu as Shashō (Conductor)

Air Date: February 16, 2014

Genre: Tokusatsu

Trailer:

Something you may not yet know about me. I am a tokusatsu fan! I’ve always had an interest in this genre. Especially the Godzilla movies and Power Rangers (U.S. version of Super Sentai)! This latest season involves trains. Never before have I been this excited to watch a show with trains. Haha! I can’t wait to see what their villains will look like. -Sleepninja

Tenchuu-Yami no Shiokinin

tenchuu-yami-no-shiokinin

Synopsis:

A politician gives a speech in a shopping district full of shoppers. Suddenly, a man wielding a knife bursts out from among the shoppers and tries to kill those around him. To stop the man, Masako Murata tries to approach him, but her friends stop her. Meanwhile, a woman, who looks like a homeless person, appears in front of him and tells him “if you want to kill, then kill me.” The man is about to stab her, but the woman opens her eyes. At the moment, blood bursts from the man’s arm. The woman is about to kill him, but Masako Murata stops her and the woman leaves. Later, Masako Murata finds the woman collapsed on the street. Masako decides to take the woman to her house. There, Masako sees that the woman is injured in her back and also notices heavy despair in her eyes. The woman’s name is Sana. Sana is a ninja that has arrived in present day Japan. She now follows Masako Murata as her new boss and attempts to eradicate evil that is rampant in modern society. (Mydramalist.com)

Cast:

Yuriko Ono as Sana
Pinko Izumi as Masako Murata
Masaki Kyomoto as Ryuji Matsuda
Shingo Yanagisawa as Tatsu Yamaki

Air Date: January 24, 2014

Trailer:

So this synopsis and the poster REALLY reeled me in. It sounds like this drama is going to start off very dramatically! I am very intrigued by this ninja from the past showing up to fight evil! When I watched the trailer, it gives a hint that there will be comedy. That’s all well and good, but I’m looking forward to what looks and sounds like a great action drama. -Sleepninja

Nazo no Tenkousei

nazo

Synopsis:

Iwata Koichi and Kagawa Midori are second-year students at Tozaiyama High School. One day, while coming home from school, they discover a shooting star rising up in the sky. The next day, Midori sees a shining figure in school and everyone on the school grounds starts talking about a ghost. At that point, a mysterious transfer student called Yamazawa Norio suddenly arrives at the school and moves in to live next door to Koichi. Strange things begin to happen frequently around Koichi whenever Norio appears. The reason and objective of Norio’s arrival in this world is gradually revealed.(Mydramalist.com)

Cast:

Hongo Kanata as Yamazawa Norio
Nakamura Aoi as Iwata Koichi
Sakurai Minami as Kagawa Midori

Air Date: January 10, 2014

Genre: Mystery, School

Trailer:


Here’s another that just had me on the edge of my seat just from reading the synopsis! It sounds like there will be a supernatural element to this drama and I am excited! Despite the pretty piano music in the trailer, the rest of it gives off this dark and mysterious vibe. Did you see the opening title sequence? That blew me away. Absolutely looking forward to this one! -Sleepninja

Dark System

dark

Synopsis:

Unattractive and ordinary Kagami (Yaotome Hikaru) gets furious when his friend Saionji starts seeing his love interest Yuri. In order to break them up, he creates the bugging device “Saionji Crasher” and plants it in Saonji’s room. (Dramawiki)

Cast:

Yaotome Hikaru as Kagami Jiro
Tamashiro Tina as Shiraishi Yuri
Yuge Tomohisa as Saionji Go
Inoo Kei as Onda Yoichi
Itao Itsuji as Phantom
Tanabe Manami as the Housekeeper
Hayashi Ryuzo as Shiraishi Tetsuzan

Air Date: January 20, 2014

Genre: Science Fiction

Trailer:

Okay, so this one looks hilarious! I felt the need to add it based on how kooky the synopsis sounds. I have this strange fascination with off-the-wall plots and concepts. I want to find out what his “Saionji Crasher” is. -Sleepninja

Bitter Blood

Bitter_Blood-a000

Synopsis:

This is a drama about a father and a son that have a terrible relationship but fate brings them together through work. They have to be partners against crime. (JADEEYES)

Cast:

Takeru Sato – Natsuki Sawara
Atsuro Watabe – Akimura Shimao

Air Date: April, 2014

Genre: Family, Comedy

I have no real deep interest other than this being another family touchy feeling Japanese drama that I will probably adore, and well… Takeru Sato.  – JADEEYES

Long Goodbye

Long_Goodbye-000

Synopsis:

After Tamotsu is suspected of murdering his wife he commits suicide or at least that’s what everyone is led to believe by Heizo Harada, a powerful media man who covers the case and also happens to be family of Tamotsu’s wife. Private detective Banji is left with doubts about the whole case, and is then involved in another incident with the Harada family. As Baji comes closer to the truth something else happens… (JADEEYES)

Cast:

Tadanobu Asano – Banji Masuzawa
Gou Ayano – Tamotsu
Koyuki – Aiko
Arata Furuta – Joji Kamiido
Ai Tominaga
Rina Ohta – Shizuka Harada
Kenichi Takito
Tomorowo Taguchi – editor
Rila Fukushima
Ryo Iwamatsu
Denden
Yuki Izumisawa
Kyosuke Yabe
Keisuke Horibe
Daichi Watanabe
Eri Ishida
Kenichi Endo
Kotaro Yoshida
Akira Emoto – Heizo Harada

Air Date: April 19 – May 17, 2014

Genre: Suspense

Based on the novel The Long Goodbye by author Raymond Chandler; this drama -despite all my efforts to make it seem uninteresting with that synopsis I wrote (apparently)- sounds very interesting and something I would like to watch because of the dark theme. I don’t know the actors but I’m ready for a challenge. It has 5 episodes only and is a Historical drama. – JADEEYES

River’s Edge Okawabata Tanteisha

Ribasu_Ejji_Ookawabata_Tanteisha-a000

Synopsis:

Three people working in a detective agency, receive weird and impossible cases every day but try their best to solve the mystery. (JADEEYES)

Cast:

Joe Odagiri – Muraki
Renji Ishibashi – head of the detective agency
Maya Koizumi – Reception Clerk Megumi

Air Date: April 18, 2014

Genre: Comedy

Trailer:

ODAGIRI JOE!!!!!!!! That’s it. Is all I have to say. No really… this is a common Japanese comedy. They solve cases by episode and I suspect their lives get mixed up with their clients. I love dramas like this one, and I also love the main actor Odagiri. He is very weird, this isn’t an insult because he obviously tries to be very different from everyone else. Nothing wrong with that. In fact, I admire him for it. My point is, he mostly works on odd dramas or those that aren’t easily placed on number one slots on ANYONE’S lists… and that includes my own. Somehow, I love to be surprised by this man. – JADEEYES

Three Days

3 days

Synopsis:

The South Korean President travels to a villa to enjoy his vacation. After three gunshots are fired, he disappears. His bodyguard Han Tae-Kyung (Park Yoo-Chun) attempts to find the President. (Asianwiki)

Cast:

Park Yoo-Chun as Han Tae-Kyung (Bodyguard)
Son Hyun-Joo as Lee Dong-Whi (President)
Park Ha-Sun as Yoon Bo-Won (Police Constable)
Yoon Je-Moon as Shin Kyu-Jin (Chief Secretary)
So E-Hyun as Lee Cha-Young (SWAT Team Agent)
Jang Hyun-Sung as Ham Bong-Soo (Chief of the Presidential Security Service)
Choi Won-Young – Kim Do-Jin

Air Date: March 5, 2014 to April 24, 2014

Genre: Action, Drama, Suspense, Thriller

Trailer:

I do enjoy action, but I am weary of certain action dramas from Korea because Koreans love to incorporate lots of romance in their action dramas and sometimes it’s just not well done. However this one will be directed by Sin Kyeong Soo, the same director of A Tree With Deep Roots. I loved that drama, so I have faith I will like this one. – JADEEYES

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh! Yoochun in a drama! And it’s an action thriller type drama. Whoooo!
What? You expect some serious reasons to watch this? Do I hafta?
Fine. My serious reasons for watching this drama are….What JADEEYES said. :p -Sleepninja

The Full Sun

THe Full Sun

Synopsis:

A tragic melodrama about a man who accidentally kills someone and begins living life as a con-man. Later on he tragically falls in love with the partner of the man he killed. (Mydramalist.com)

Cast:

Yoon Kye Sang as Jung Se Ro (27) – Lee Eun Soo (32)
Han Ji Hye as Han Young Won (25-30)
Jo Jin Woong as Park Kang Jae (38)
Kim Yoo Ri as Seo Jae In (30)

Air Date: February 17, 2014

Genre: Melodrama

Trailer:

That Winter The Wind Blows? Nope, but it does have similar theme. What I like about this drama is that Yoon Kye Sang is the main lead, call me shallow but this man doesn’t get enough spot light and he is one of the best. Have you seen Who Are You? because if you haven’t you are missing one hell of a performance from this guy. Now back to the matter at hand. Yes this drama also has a dark story line which is one of my favorite genres. Wouldn’t miss it. – JADEEYES

This one looks like a solid melodrama. For some reason, I am always drawn to these types of stories, even if they leave me sobbing or left aimlessly wandering in a daze after completing them. It looks like Yoon Kye Sang is bringing his A-Game in that teaser. I am so glad he is starring in another drama. -Sleepninja

Gap Dong

Gap_Dong-tp01

Synopsis:

A detective that is obsessed in finding the killer behind the serial murders of 20 years ago because his father committed suicide after being suspected of the crime. (JADEEYES)

Cast:

Yoon Sang-Hyun – Detective Ha Moo-Yeom
Kim Min-Jung – Maria Oh
Sung Dong-Il – Chief Detective Yang Chul-Gon
Lee Joon – Ryoo Tae-Oh
Kim Ji-Won – Ma Ji-Wool
Jung In-Gi – Cha Do-Hyeok
Kang Nam-Kil – Han Sang-Hoon (profiler)
Jang Hee-Soo – Maria’s mother
Jang Gwang – Monk Jinjo
Jo Ji-Hwan – Lee Hyung-Nyeon

Air Date: April, 2014

Genre: Drama, Suspense

A man with a person vendetta (CHECK) Based on true events (CHECK) Yoon Sang Hyun (CHECK). Also, it reminds me of The Devil and that is one of my all time favorites, plus did I mentioned it has cutie-pie Sang Hyun. SOLD. -JADEEYES

Yoon Sang Hyun, Sung Dong Il, and Lee Joon all in the same drama? I’m pretty sure those are the only three reasons I will ever need to watch it! -Sleepninja

God’s Gift — 14 Days

God's_Gift_-_14_Days-a000

Synopsis:

This drama will be about a woman who travels back in time to save her son from dying.

Cast:

Lee Bo-Young – Kim Soo-Hyun
Cho Seung-Woo – Ki Dong-Chan
Kim Tae-Woo – Han Ji-Hoon (Soo-Hyun’s husband)
Kim Yoo-Bin – Han Saet-Byeol (Soo-Hyun’s daughter)
Jung Gyu-Woon – Hyun Woo-Jin
No Min-Woo – Te-Oh
Baro – Ki Young-Gyu
Han Sun-Hwa – Jenny
Kang Shin-Il – President Kim Nam-Joon
Joo Jin-Mo – Minister of Justice Lee Myeong-Han

Air Date: February, 2014

Genre: Science-fiction

This is another time travel drama. I thought time travel was so 2012, but Marry Him if you Dare (better known to some as Watch It if you Dare) kinda threw that out the window and now here is another drama with the same idea “time travel” but with a different plot. I will give this a try because I’m a sucker for time travel stories, but if it’s anything like the disaster above mentioned I will not hesitate to drop it. Nothing like Nine: Nine Times Travel. When will produces learn to quit before they’re ahead? – JADEEYES

Cunning Single Lady

29543_36673_479

Synopsis:

A couple that gets married, and later divorces. The man becomes successful after the divorce and so the woman tries seducing him again. (JADEEYES)

Cast:

Joo Sang-Wook – Cha Jung-Woo
Lee Min-Jung – Na Ae-Ra
Kim Gyu-Ri – Kook Yeo-Jin
Seo Kang-Joon – Kook Seung-Hyun (Yeo-Jin’s younger brother)
L – Secretary Gil
Hwang Bo-Ra – Kang Min-Young (Ae-Ra’s friend)
Lee Jeong-Kil – President Kook (Yeo-Jin’s father)
Kim Eung-Soo – Ae-Ra’s father
Kim Yong-Hee – Ae-Ra’s older brother
Lee Byung-Joon – Director Oh

Air Date: February 16, 2014

Genre: Romance, Comedy

This drama has a couple of things that say it will be a successful rom-com, at the same time it might be a disaster. To start the actors are good; and the plot is also very interesting. This year to me is the year of the married couples, and/or divorced couples. I’m in my 30s and I have to admit while I do enjoy some action and all that I am now leaning towards plots that tackle people in their 30s or above, struggling through marriage or singlehood. So this drama is right up my alley in that sense.  -JADEEYES

Can We Love?

can we love

Synopsis:

A drama about love lives and careers of three women, who are in their late thirties, living their lives as divorced woman, a spinster, and a full-time housewife. Jung Wan (Eugene) is bubbly and forthright woman who divorces after ten years of marriage and moves in with her son to her mother’s house. She will get involved with Oh Kyung Soo (Uhm Tae Woong), a bad tempered, self conceited but a skilled film director who has received several awards and Ahn Do Young (Kim Sung Soo), the CEO of a film company. Meanwhile, Jung Wan’s friends; Sun Mi (Kim Yoo Mi) is a happily single “gold miss” and Ji Hyun (Choi Jung Yoon) is a longtime housewife and mother of her teenage daughter and young son. (Dramawiki)

Cast:

Eugene Kim as Yoon Jung Wan
Uhm Tae Woong as Oh Kyung Soo
Kim Sung Soo as An Do Young
Kim Yoo Mi as Kim Sun Mi
Choi Jung Yoon as Kwon Ji Hyun

Air Date: January 6, 2014 to March 11, 2014

Genre: Drama, Family, Romance

Trailer:

This drama has Eugene in it. She’s very pretty. I want to huggle her. I will watch this drama.
lol I really want to see how well she handles playing the role of a single mom.

Can We Love? Absolutely. What wouldn’t you love about this drama? It is one of my favorites this winter and I would recommend it to anyone. It is a drama that holds everything: comedy; melodrama; romance; romance, and did I say romance? Mature romance. You know, the one that we all experience at one point or the other in our lives? That makes us feel like we are doing something right whether we are crying or smiling? Yep, that one. Good chemistry from the actors, and good writing, what more can you ask for? – JADEEYES

Posted on February 12, 2014, in Dramas/Series and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Looks like there is some great shows starting up. I’ll definitely be checking out Bitter Blood and Watashi no Kirai na Tantei, they sound like they will be fantastic!

  2. Ninejade my chinguya, you have abandoned me! My heart is broken! 😦

    Anyway, I think your decision to give Long Goodbye a go is a great choice! You’re not familiar with Tadanobu Asano, but I am and I think he’s incredible! I love his acting – he’s capable of playing these really weird, oddball type of characters (The Taste of Tea) & at the same time very deep and moving dramatic performances in movies like Last Life in the Universe & Invisible Waves. I’ll be watching this drama just for him.

    I’m also looking forward to Cunning Single Woman, I hope they don’t mess it up like they did with Watch It If You Dare … er I mean, MARRY Him If You Dare.

  3. Thanks ya’ll… i didnt know any coming soon jap dramas. this was a very informative article.. i hope i get to watch more jap dramas this yr 🙂

  4. I definitely wanna watch Bitter Blood & Reverse Edge!!!!!!

  5. Nice ….I will definitely be checking some of these dramas out

  6. Thanks guys, my PTWL will increase now :p I’m definitely in for 3 Days, Cunning Single Lady and Incisive Great Teacher. As for the J-drama Nazo no Tenkousei, what came to mind was YFAS LOL!!! Thanks for the updates, I will be looking out for them ^^

    • Hi adena 🙂

      This is our issue every time a new season comes. We have a huge list and know we are going to make it bigger whether we like it or not hahaha… too many good dramas coming out this year. At least they all seem promising. Thank you for the comment.

Leave a Reply

