Sleepninja Completes: January ’17

I figured it might be fun to share what shows, movies and books I complete each month as well as my reactions to them.  I would love to read about your month in dramas, movies etc as well!

So here goes! How was my January? Well…

Movies:

Rogue One

mv5bmjewmzmxodizov5bml5banbnxkftztgwnzg3otazmdi-_v1_sy1000_sx675_al_

Synopsis:
The Rebel Alliance makes a risky move to steal the plans for the Death Star, setting up the epic saga to follow. –IMDB

Thoughts: So far I have only seen one movie this year and it was totally worth more than the ticket price.  I am a huge Star Wars fan and this movie definitely exceeded my expectations.  The story takes place directly before Episode IV and gives the back story to how the Rebels obtained their information about the Death Star. I feel like saying anything more about the movie would ruin the experience, but the acting and the story line were soooo good. Not gonna lie, I definitely cried during the movie. I’m such a baby. >.<

Shows:

The Magicians

mv5bmje2ntqxody1mf5bml5banbnxkftztgwmde4mtu2nze-_v1_

Synopsis:
After being recruited to a secretive academy, a group of students discover that the magic they read about as children is very real-and more dangerous than they ever imagined.  – IMDB

Thoughts: The Magicians is based on a book series by Lev Grossman. In fact, as I am typing this I am currently reading the first in the series.  Anywho, the series is Chronicles of Narnia meets Harry Potter with a hefty dose of adult content and it doesn’t shy away from blood and gore. AND. I. AM. KINDA. OBSESSED. I blew through the first season in a day and now I am impatiently waiting for season 2 to finish airing so I can binge it.  Good thing I have these monstrous to-watch and to-read lists to keep me distracted. ha.

Colony

mv5bmje3ndqzmde2n15bml5banbnxkftztgwmjqwmdu0nze-_v1_sy1000_cr006511000_al_

Synopsis:
In the wake of a mysterious alien invasion, a family fights to stay together in a new world order. – USA

Thoughts: Despite a couple frustrating characters, I really enjoyed the first season of this show. There were some episodes that had my blood pumping wondering when or if somebody was going to get caught in a lie or what would happen to them should their deceit be discovered. I am so ready for more of this show.

The OA

mv5bmtc3mja5ndm5n15bml5banbnxkftztgwotgzntq4mdi-_v1_sy1000_cr006741000_al_

Synopsis:
Having gone missing seven years ago, the previously blind Prairie returns home, now in her 20s with her sight restored. While many believe she is a miracle, others worry that she could be dangerous. – IMDB

Thoughts: Yet another new series that I am obsessed with. I cannot even begin to describe why I loved this show so much. It is certainly an odd show and probably not for everyone. However, with only 8 episodes in the first season, it’s worth a try.  I really need to stop watching all of these brand new shows! I do not have the patience for waiting for new episodes. I’m too greedy. This is a show that will definitely be on my mind as the wait for a second season continues.

Law & Order: SVU Season 2

mv5bmtuynzk1nje5nl5bml5banbnxkftztgwndgwmtk4ote-_v1_

Synopsis:
This show introduces the Special Victims Unit, a new elite squad of NYPD detectives who investigate sexually related crimes. – IMDB

Thoughts: There are not a lot of crime dramas that I get into, but when I get into them, I watch them over and over.  SVU is a series that I have been into for a while, but never got around to watching from the beginning. I finally decided to start from season 1 and watch up to the current season. Considering there are 18 seasons, this will probably take a while!

The X-Files Season 3

mv5bodc5mda0mzgyof5bml5banbnxkftztgwnjc5njy3nze-_v1_sx769_cr00769999_al_

Synopsis:
Two FBI agents, Fox Mulder the believer and Dana Scully the skeptic, investigate the strange and unexplained while hidden forces work to impede their efforts. – IMDB

Thoughts: X-Files was a series that came out when I was too young to get into it. By the time I was finally old enough, the fervor had died down, so I forgot about it. Now that the series has been revived, I feel it is the perfect time to finally watch the series. I’m three seasons in and I am loving it.  I look forward to discovering more answers to the mysteries surrounding the characters.

Ill Wind by Rachel Caine

ill-wind

Synopsis:
Joanne Baldwin is a Weather Warden – waves her hand to tame the most violent weather. Now she races against accusations of corruption and murder. Her only hope is Lewis, the most powerful warden known. Because he stole three bottles of Djinn, he is now the most wanted criminal on earth. Can she find him before the bad weather closes in? – Goodreads

I really enjoyed this book. I love the concept of the book. Basically, it takes place in our reality, however there is a secret world organization of magically gifted people that manipulate weather to keep civilization from falling apart. Not only that, the weather is nearly sentient and bent on killing life. Like it legitimately hates us according to the author’s descriptions. Also there are djinn that can either collaborate with Weather Wardens (via an enslavement type of deal) or trick and kill them. The ending went in a direction that I did not expect, but it definitely left me curious as to which directions the author will take the series in. I would definitely suggest giving this story a try.

Born of Night by Sherrilyn Kenyon

2992061

Synopsis:
In the Ichidian Universe, The League and their ruthless assassins rule all. Expertly trained and highly valued, the League Assassins are the backbone of the government. But not even the League is immune to corruption . . .

Command Assassin Nykyrian Quikiades once turned his back on the League—and has been hunted by them ever since. Though many have tried, none can kill him or stop him from completing his current mission: to protect Kiara Zamir, a woman whose father’s political alliance has made her a target.

As her world becomes even deadlier, Kiara must entrust her life to the same kind of beast who once killed her mother and left her for dead. Old enemies and new threaten them both and the only way they can survive is to overcome their suspicions and learn to trust in the very ones who threaten them the most: each other. –Goodreads

I’m a bit on the fence about this one. I was recommended these books by a friend who love the author. The book started off fairly strong and there were definitely a lot of parts that I enjoyed, however things get messy and annoying about halfway through. The characters suddenly turn into those mopey, super angsty types that drive me up the wall. Not going to lie, finishing the book was a bit of a struggle. However, I have read other reviews that mention that the other books in the series are better, so I will definitely continue on. Would I recommend this to others? Well, I cannot in good conscience do that despite my willingness to continue the series. haha Use your own judgement. >.<;

Save

The Innocent Mage by Karen Miller

innocent-mage

Synopsis:
Enter the kingdom of Lur, where to use magic unlawfully means death. The Doranen have ruled Lur with magic since arriving as refugees centuries ago. Theirs was a desperate flight to escape the wrath of a powerful mage who started a bitter war in their homeland. To keep Lur safe, the native Olken inhabitants agreed to abandon their own magic. Magic is now forbidden to them, and any who break this law are executed.

Asher left his coastal village to make his fortune. Employed in the royal stables, he soon finds himself befriended by Prince Gar and given more money and power than he’d ever dreamed possible. But the Olken have a secret; a prophecy. The Innocent Mage will save Lur from destruction and members of The Circle have dedicated themselves to preserving Olken magic until this day arrives. Unbeknownst to Asher, he has been watched closely. As the Final Days approach, his life takes a new and unexpected turn … – Goodreads

So here is another one that I was a bit underwhelmed by. The synopsis sounded really great, however the author spent the first half of the book writing a story that went…nowhere. Then things finally started to pick up. However, it was a lot of build up that failed to actually involve the main character. The biggest moments involved the characters around the main character while he just kinda hung around. Then it literally ends with a cliffhanger. So I rated it about a three out of five. Having invested all of that time into the story,I will at least give the second installment a try in hopes that it will match up to the synopsis better.

Corpse Party: BloodCovered Volume 5

18810037

Synopsis:Corpse Party BloodCovered revolves around a group of students from Kisaragi Academy and one of their teachers. They try a mystical charm called Sachiko Ever After as an attempt to cheer up one of their classmates who is going to transfer schools; but something goes wrong, and they end up trapped in Heavenly Host Elementary School. And what’s even worse: they appear in completely different dimensions inside the school.
While searching around the school, they find the corpses of the people who were trapped before them, along with the spirits of four children who are not willing to let them live. The students of Kisaragi Academy must unravel the mystery behind Heavenly Host and escape from there.- Goodreads

Thoughts: First manga of the year! Woohoo! I am kinda obsessed with the Corpse Party franchise and the manga adaptations are certainly NOT a letdown. BloodCovered is a faithful adaptation of the first game of the series. So far, it follows the game very closely while also elaborating more on the characters’ backgrounds and on the events taking place at Heavenly Host. I am a very happy girl about this. Definitely looking forward to finishing the rest of this and moving on to the other installments. If you love Corpse Party, or if you are a fan of gory horror, I would highly recommend this franchise. ♥

The Fallen by Thomas E. Sniegoski

1756824

Synopsis: On the eve of his eighteenth birthday, Aaron dreams of a darkly violent landscape. He can hear the sounds of weapons clanging, the screams of the stricken, and another sound he cannot quite decipher. But gazing upward at the sky, he suddenly understands. It is the sound of great wings, angels’ wings, beating the air unmercifully as hundreds of armored warriors descend on the battlefield.

Orphaned since birth, Aaron is suddenly discovering newfound — and sometimes supernatural — talents. But not until he is approached by two men does he learn the truth about his own destiny, and his role as a liaison between angels, mortals, and Powers both good and evil, some of whom are hell-bent on his own destruction…. Goodreads

Thoughts: I was not super impressed by this story. It was interesting, but I did not get pulled in like I usually do with books. I did, however, enjoy it enough to continue the series and see how if it improves.

Fantasy Lover by Sherrilyn Kenyon

84136

Goodreads

Thoughts: This book was…underwhelming. So much so that I’m not even gonna bother with the synopsis. Not only that, it pissed me off. It is listed as the first in this authors most popular series, the Dark-Hunterverse. It’s not. Not even close.  I’m getting a bit frustrated with this author. The first book I read was Infinity and I enjoyed it a lot. I suppose with this author it’s very hitor-miss.

The Black Gryphon by Mercedes Lackey and Larry Dixon

176804

Synopsis:

It is an age when Valdemar is yet unfounded, its organization of Heralds yet unformed, and magic is still a wild and uncontrolled force.

Skandranon Rashkae is perhaps the finest specimen of his race, with gleaming ebony feathers, majestic wingspan, keen magesight and sharp intelligence. Courageous, bold, and crafty, Skan is everything a gryphon should be. He is the fulfillment of everything that the Mage of Silence, the human sorcerer called Urtho, intended to achieve when he created these magical beings to be his champions, the defenders of his realm–a verdant plain long coveted by the evil mage Maar. – Barnes&Noble

Thoughts: I absolutely loved this book. It was a given, though, because I love this author. I automatically love every single book that I read because she is just so great at world-building and creating solid characters in those worlds.  As soon as I open a book I am sucked in immediately and don’t come up for air until the very last page. If you are interested in trying out her books, I suggest starting with Arrows of the Queen  or Magic’s Pawn.

So that’s all that I have completed this month aside from a handful of children’s books that I read to my nephews.  Have you watched or read any of these titles? If so, please share your thoughts! I would also love to know what everyone has been watching and reading this month. Please share in the comment section. 🙂

Posted on January 29, 2017, in Animation/Manga, Dramas/Series, Films, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

