Weekly Movie Watch: Bridget Jones’s Diary

We’re back at it once again with the weekly movie watches. For February, we’re doing romantic comedies. The first movie in this batch was the classic Bridget Jones’s Diary.



Bridget Jones’s Diary
2001
Comedy / Drama / Romance
1 hr 37 mins

“At the start of the New Year, 32-year-old Bridget (Renée Zellweger) decides it’s time to take control of her life — and start keeping a diary. Now, the most provocative, erotic and hysterical book on her bedside table is the one she’s writing. With a taste for adventure, and an opinion on every subject – from exercise to men to food to sex and everything in between – she’s turning the page on a whole new life.” – Google

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0243155/

Here’s a movie that’s been around for awhile, and talked about for years. But honestly, I’ve never watched any of these movies before this week. I knew Renee Zellweger was in it, and that it was a chick flick, but that was the extent of my knowledge. Didn’t know what it was about at all.

And basically, this movie centers around the life of Bridget, and her down to shit luck with men in life. She gets involved with her boss, and a lot of the movie is told through her narration. And I have to be honest – I kind of got really bored with it. I could see why this was a popular movie back in the day, it was mildly entertaining and relatable. 

I just failed to really gain interest in the film. It made for good background noise as I did something else. But the characters weren’t any I was real invested in, and I probably would only watch the sequels if I was really bored and needed something else to watch. Because of this, I’m going to give it a flat average rating at 5/10.

-Crazy4you

This modern take on Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice was all the rage back when I was in middle school. I remember when I first saw it, it was with my sister and my mother. This was when VHS and DVD rental stores were still a thing! 

So, Bridget Jones’s Diary holds a lot of nostalgic appeal to me. When I first watched it, I did enjoy it, but even then I didn’t think it was one of the best movies ever. Mainly because I felt a lot of second-hand embarrassment and cringe for a lot of the things that Bridget does on her road to improving her looks and love life. And a lot of her personal worries about her age and weight kind of went over my head. Now that I’m older, I can understand her character a little more, but I still feel the cringe!

That being said, I still really enjoyed this movie for it’s acting, it’s silly characters, and humor.
Those same scenes that made me cringe, also made me laugh quite a bit! If you need a romantic comedy that you can enjoy with friends and family, this is one that you can’t go wrong with. I give it a 7 out of 10. –Sleepninja

Quotes of the Week:

Bridget: It is a truth universally acknowledged that when one part of your life starts going okay, another falls spectacularly to pieces.

Posted on February 11, 2018, in Films and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment